Parting is such sweet sorrow…

…but let’s not be too sorrowful as I shall soon return. Tomorrow we are off to the beautiful county of Devon for a week’s holiday. More specifically, we shall be staying in Torquay and travelling hither and thither from that town as our base.

We have been through Devon many times on the way to Cornwall and even engaged in some border skirmishes while travelling around, so we thought it was time to visit the county for its own sake.

Our train leaves Paddington (the station, not the bear) at 8:35 am and will carry us by 11:46, or so it is promised, to Torquay station where the hotel has kindly offered to pick us up.

Knowing the British weather, we will take clothing for a range of climates while hoping for the best. Our plan is to explore by train and bus and to bring back lots of photos. It might just happen that we sample the odd cream tea or three as opportunity presents itself.

So ’tis but a short absence, a brief parting, before we return to Islington, suitably refreshed, to take up our exciting London life where we left off.

Til then, gentle reader, adieu, but not for long.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Parting is such sweet sorrow…

  1. Catz says:

    Hope you enjoy your trip! I also hope the weather isn’t too bad. I know for sure if you were traveling here (British Columbia) you would need winter clothing. Brrr I cannot believe how cold it is at this time of year.

  2. Ed says:

    Enjoy these holidays which sound promising. It’s a pity I’m not in England right now, whenever I’m there, the weather is great ! My love to Paddington !

  3. David says:

    Do enjoy, I am upset that you shattered my illusion about Paddington Station. I always imagined it with a giant bear mural on the walls

  4. ember999 says:

    Enjoy your holiday! I hope the weather is beautiful for you xx

  5. SilverTiger says:

    Thanks to all for your good wishes. They obviously helped as the weather was reasonable. We were troubled by rain only on one day (which you will learn about when I post my narrative).

    Actually, David, there is a bronze sculpture of Paddington Bear at Paddington station. If I had seen this comment before I left, I would have taken a photo and posted it for you to see. I’ll have to do so another time!

  6. Oscarandre says:

    I spent a wonderful week in Devon once as part of a 4 month honeymoon – we stayed in a very old resotored stable that overlooked a forest where deer sometimes appeared. The farmer had a cannon ball from the Civil War on his workbench – he’d dug it up while ploughing. I have happy memories of Devon.

  7. SilverTiger says:

    It sounds an ideal place to stay and I am glad it has given you some happy memories.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

