Upper floors

Upper floors

We didn’t do much yesterday (Sunday). We had a lie-in and then later went into town for a meal, followed by everyone’s favourite Sunday activity: a trip to the supermarket!

While we were waiting for the bus back from town, my gaze was attracted by this sunlit facade and I took a quick photo. The dark area at the top is the roof of the bus shelter caught in my hurry: the bus was coming!

This view seems to me typical of the architectural salade that characterizes any big city and especially London, where you have buildings of different dates and styles crammed together, each doing its own thing without reference to any of the others.

I am often fascinated by buildings, especially the upper floors. It is not so much the architecture that draws me (though it does sometimes, especially if the building includes towers or turrets – I’d love a house with a turret!) as the mystery of who lives there or, better still, what it would be like to live there myself.

As I sit on a bench or wait at a bus stop, it is always the upper floors that catch my attention, and the details one glimpses such as a light fitting here, a grubby curtain there or a shelf of books further along.

The truth, were I to know it, would no doubt be banal but in the meantime, the glimpsed unknown evokes enchanting daydreams!

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Upper floors

  1. Ed says:

    I love this photo, and having the opportunity to think of London. Façades have always fascinated me, including the tops, but also their windows. I often dream of visiting, just once, the inside of buildings that surprise me with their outer architecture.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I’m glad you like it because it suddenly grabbed me while I was waiting for the bus. I think it might have been the dreamy quality of the afternoon sun.

    How nice that you have the same feeling about unvisited rooms that I do!

    I always dreamed of living in a castle and having my room in a round tower.

  3. Oh yes, I do that too – stare up at windows and imagine myself living there. I love walking past places in the evening too and staring in through windows and getting a quick snatch of someone’s life. You could just call me a nosey parker of course!

  4. SilverTiger says:

    I think it’s more the attraction of the unknown. We are such romantic souls!

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

