Monitoring my suspense

It is one of those days when I sit and wait for the doorbell to ring. I have no idea when it will ring but have been promised that it will do so no later than 1 pm.

For some time now, the PC monitor – our essential window onto the online world – has been showing small but disturbing signs of senescence. Every now and again, the screen goes blank and stays that way for several heart-stopping seconds before lighting up again and recovering its use as a window. Phew!

In any case, it is rather old-fashioned and fairly small by today’s standards. So why don’t we simply buy a new one? A spanking new monitor with a wide, flat screen comes at quite a reasonable price nowadays. The answer is that we are in that in-between stage: yes, we are expecting! Expecting a new computer, that is! And of course it would be a waste of money to buy a new monitor for a computer that is about to be scrapped.

Yesterday occurred one of those light-bulb moments. You know what I mean, one of those moments of inspiration-realization which is indicated in strip-cartoons by a light bulb appearing over the subject’s head: bing!

You see, the new computer is being put together by Tigger’s brother who is in the business of supplying and installing computer systems. It occurred to me that there is no reason why he cannot supply it sans monitor or putting that another way, why we cannot anticipate the joyful event by buying the monitor ourselves now. So that is what we did. Or rather, it is what I did in email consultation with Tigger who was at work: I went online and ordered a super-duper wide-screen flat monitor and paid for express delivery on the promise that it would be delivered today, no later than 1 pm.

I hope later to be looking out at you all through a shiny new window, enjoying the extra space that a flat screen will give us, but for now, I am still waiting for the ring on the doorbell. So far, nothing.

I have tried all the usual things to make it ring, like going to the toilet (delivery people enjoy ringing your bell when you are on the toilet), getting absorbed in all sorts of tasks but so far, it hasn’t worked. I remain in suspense. But I have not lost my nerve – yet. I am still confident that it will arrive as promised.

So for now, dear reader, I will leave you, like me, in suspense. I will return to the story again when I have something definite to report.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in About Us and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monitoring my suspense

  1. Chris says:

    A widescreen monitor, huh? Ha, I’ll foil your evil plan, Moriarty…er…SilverTiger! I’ll change my blog to a maximum width of 100px. Let’s see how you cope with that (cackles, wicked grin, exit stage left, etc).

  2. SilverTiger says:

    No problem. Wide screens R us 😉

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

