Changing buses and batteries

Our holiday is over and, although it is still the weekend, we are getting ready for a return to normal life, for example by doing the shopping. We may, however, go out for a wander later in the day. I have two days’ trips to write up and will do so when I have sorted out the photos.

Today’s anecdote concerns an event that occurred yesterday, and which will no doubt be familiar to hearing-aid wearers: one of my batteries failed. What happens is that the sound in one ear ceases, as though your ear were blocked, and after a few seconds, the beeping starts: beep-beep, beep-beep… Is this annoying? Yes, it is rather, but then, it’s supposed to be! It’s your hearing aid’s way of asking you to change the battery.

This was a nuisance as we were on a bus at the time. The experience at least enabled me to gauge how much the hearing aids help me as I now had one working and one not working. On this basis, I would say they help quite a lot. I always carry spare batteries with me but changing them is fiddly and doing it in a public place risks dropping and damaging the aid or dropping and losing the battery, neither of which you want to do.

We thought it would be best to wait until we were on the train home, perhaps in seats with a table. In the event, however, we decided to give it a go in the street while waiting for a bus.

I removed my right “dolby”, opened the little battery compartment and tapped out the battery into Tigger’s hand. She pocketed it to put into the recycling later. She now held the aid while I rooted around in my bag for batteries.

Batteries come in a rotating transparent box affixed to a card with an opening in it, an arrangement that reminds me of the chambers in the revolvers in Westerns. Unlike bullets, though, the batteries are tiny and each one has a protective tab stuck to it which you have to remove. I managed to do this without dropping the battery and then popped this into the hearing aid’s battery compartment. Sorted!

Now all I had to do was start all over again with the other one! Well, I know from experience that when one battery fails, the other does so soon after so you might as well change both at the same time.

Losing the hearing in one or both ears while out and about is at least inconvenient and I suppose could even cause problems in some circumstances. It occurred to me that it would be better to change the batteries before they failed. The question is at what interval I would have to change them. Though we racked our brains, we could not remember exactly when I last changed batteries, although we have a vague idea.

This time, I have noted the date. Next time the batteries fail, I will have an idea of the interval between changes. This will vary, of course, but I hope to arrive at a minimum duration and in future to change batteries at that interval. All being well, this will prevent any more sudden failures at inconvenient moments.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changing buses and batteries

  1. David says:

    My battery in my headpiece dies around 5 or 6 every night. The charge lasts around 12 hours, so if I get up too early I am deaf right at dinner hour.
    I have to learn to sleep in.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I assume your device is rechargeable, then. That’s limiting unless you can have replaceable batteries.

    My batteries are use-once jobbies that you put in the recycling after use.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

