It was Rye

Dove cote, Rye

Did you guess from the photo in my last post where we went on Tuesday? Well, the cat is now out of the bag: we went to Rye. It is a very picturesque town with a pleasant atmosphere. It has its share of ancient buildings but there is also an upbeat, lively feel to the place. It is one of the Cinque Ports and much is made of the fact that it is in “1066 Country” with vestiges of the Norman Conquest.

We spent our time revisiting the places that we enjoy seeing. This makes for a pretty boring narrative so I will instead display photos showing some of the sights that we saw. It was a rather dull day and this is reflected in the photos which perhaps do not show Rye at its best.

View from Rye station
View from Rye station. More on the clock later
Pipemakers' Arms
Sign on the Pipemakers’ Arms
Town well
One of three town wells, no longer needed but lovingly preserved
Stirred up gulls
Someone was stirring up these gulls. I disapprove but it at least showed what skillful fliers they are
Waiting for the tide
These boats seem to be waiting for the tide to release them from the mud

 

Street, Rye Street, Rye Alley
Two streets and an alley

Church clock Clock pendulum
We always go to see this clock and its open pendulum
swinging above our heads inside the church

A town gate
One of the old town gates and…
Town gate clock
…its clock
Sheep-dotted fields
I love the view of the putting green with the sheep-dotted fields beyond it

The day was made memorable by the purchase of a souvenir. I am always on the lookout for silver-tiger rings and today I found one in Rye!

Silver Tiger ring

This ring goes on my right hand and almost matches the one on my left hand. So, if ever you meet someone with a silver tiger on each hand, it is likely to be me!

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It was Rye

  1. hey you know that would be rather fun. I often wonder if I ever pass any other bloggers when out and about. I shall look out for your rings.

    If you see someone with very long hair, lots of silver bangles and a polka dot skirt that’ll be me!!

  2. SilverTiger says:

    Chance can always be helped along, of course πŸ˜‰

  3. ah well if you ever visit Norwich be sure to let me know!

  4. SilverTiger says:

    It’s on the list! πŸ™‚

  5. “Cool” as my son would say!

  6. SilverTiger says:

    Mine would probably say “Great!” but he belongs to a slightly different generation πŸ˜‰

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

