Lymington

This was written on Friday. Tigger had been given the day off from work and the plan was to spend the day in the New Forest. Unfortunately, it didn’t quite work out as planned. Firstly, we were a little late setting out and it was about 10 am by the time we reached Waterloo Station. That, of course, was our fault. The real spoiler was the time it took us to reach New Milton. The train stopped and waited for long intervals several times, supposedly because of signal trouble in the area we were trying reach. It was 2 pm by the time we arrived.

New Milton is a pleasant enough small town but there is not much there for the day-tripper in a hurry. It does, however, have

Bradbeers, New Milton
Bradbeer’s department store…
Centenary clock, New Milton
…a centenary clock…
Cream tea, New Milton
…a cafe where we had a cream tea!
 

If you are wondering about the teabags in my cup, this is because Tigger likes her tea weak and milky whereas I like it strong and black. She takes the bags out of the teapot and puts them in my cup. Sorted.

After this pleasant interlude, we decided to take the bus to Lymington. There is only one bus an hour but this gave us time to have the cream tea!

When I awoke this morning, I at first thought my back was less painful. Perhaps that was the result of a night’s rest for once I was up, it became clear that the pain was as great as ever. Being a bloke, I always hope illnesses and injuries will get better by themselves but if there is no progress within a few days, I will have to consult a doctor.

In New Milton, Tigger persuaded me to buy a walking stick. I didn’t want one but have to admit that it has been helpful. What is interesting is the effect the stick has on other people. I had a struggle getting onto the bus and apologized to the driver but he was very sympathetic and told me not to worry. Other people have been similarly kind and considerate.

Our bus eventually came and I struggled upstairs. Front seats were available and we enjoyed a white-knuckle ride to Lymington. I can only think, from the way the driver threw the bus around sharp bends, that New Forest bus drivers are trained in Cornwall!

Lymington is a beautiful town in my opinion. It has elegant buildings, a broad high street and a big marina full of picturesque yachts and larger vessels. We spent some time there, enjoying the sights and sounds and watching the antics of the black-headed gulls.

High Street, Lymington
Lymington High Street
Quay Street, Lymington
Quay Street
The Marina, Lymington
Lymington Marina

Here is a selection of feathered friends:

black-headed gull, Lymington Pigeons in a boat, Lymington Pigeon, Lymington

We later walked along the high street, in front of the Angel Hotel (nice coincidence of names) and then turned back, breaking for coffee.

The bus ride back to New Milton was less exciting than the ride to get to Lymington. The bus was a hopper, not a double-decker and I was sitting behind the driver’s cab.

The journey home passed without incident or delay. Lymington is definitely on our list for further visits.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lymington

  1. Nora says:

    So, I am curious about the New forest now and hope you wil make it there some day as I now have some illusions about it. The cream tea sounds lovely, although I don’t quite know what it entails besides tea. I imagine all sorts of goodies like cakes etc. You do have lovely days out and you are quite adventurous moving about on public transportation, just like we can do here in the Netherlands, although the fares are prohibitive.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    Both Devon and Cornwall claim the invention of the cream tea but this dish is now served everywhere. A proper cream tea consists of scones, clotted cream and raspberry jam. (And tea, of course.)

    The only point of dispute is which you put on the scone first, the jam or the cream. I always put the jam on first but Tigger puts the cream on first.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

