Littlehampton and Arundel

Littlehampton Harbour
Littlehampton Harbour

On Saturday we got off to a quicker start. We took the Brighton train from St Pancras but that seaside resort was not our destination and we would have to change trains en route. The question was where it would be best to do so.

The station and the trains were crowded. Perhaps the fine weather had brought people out but there also seemed to be some football and rugby matches on, to judge from the way people were dressed. The train was packed with people standing. I had a window seat and was thus imprisoned. My back shows little sign of improvement and I need time to get up out of my seat.

I suggested that we put off changing until we reached Gatwick because I knew lots of people would get off there, clearing the way to the door and making the train wait so I would have time to get off. The plan worked. Moreover, we could take the lift from the platform to save a painful climb up the stairs.

Millennium Clock, LittlehamptonWe boarded the second train and in due course reached our destination: Littlehampton. Arriving there is a slow journey because the train traces a loop through smaller towns such as Worthing and Goring-by-Sea.

Wall Clock, LittlehamptonHow would you describe Littlehampton? I think I would say it was a beautiful seaside town with an upbeat air but a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere.

Staying with the horological theme for the moment, I found this imposing specimen in a mainstreet. Note the legend “Progress” beneath it: they are fond of progress in Littlehampton.

The Arcade, LittlehamptonThe last time we came here, we went on the beach to the west of the town and saw the wolf spiders. Today, we stayed in town. The weather was warm and sunny, not so much a day for rushing about; more a day for strolling and sitting. So we strolled and sat.

We strolled through the old arcade but the place to be in Littlehampton on a sunny day is the seafront, which is a pleasant place to be as these contrasting views show.

Littlehampton beach Littlehampton promenade Harbour, Littlehampton

There was a feature of Littlehampton that had attracted me to the place the first time I came here. You can just see it in the third photo above. Swans! I have nowhere else seen so many swans all together.

Swans, Littlehampton Swans, Littlehampton Swan, Littlehampton
A selection of Littlehampton swans

There were so many, engaged in so many different activities, especially when people fed them, that I spent some time watching and photographing them and could have spent longer.

Arundel CastleAfter lunch, we took the bus to Arundel. The town is famous for its castle, which you can see here jutting above the old Post Office, but we did not visit it. Something to do another time, perhaps.

Arundel is quite a pretty town to visit and a good place to go if you are interested in antiques as there are antiques shops everywhere. Below are a couple of pictures of an arcade that was unfortunately shut by the time we got there and third is of another fascinating shop.

Arcade, Arundel Arcade, Arundel Picture Restoration, Arundel

Something else that caught my imagination was this swan. She is nesting and so close to the road – and a public walkway – that it is easy to approach and photograph her. I couldn’t see whether there were any eggs in the nest but I assume there must be.

Nesting swan

We took the bus back to Littlehampton and from there, the train to Victoria. We are now officially on holiday so, all being well, more adventures will follow in the course of the week.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Littlehampton and Arundel

  1. athinkingman says:

    Impressive panorama picture. You are obviously enjoying your new camera.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I’m glad you liked it.

    Photography is both fun and a challenge. The challenge is getting the picture to turn out as you see the scene.

    I do find the lack of a viewfinder hampering. In bright conditions it is hard to see detail on the preview screen and to work out how to frame the picture. There is also the problem of camera shake.

    The price of SLRs has fallen dramatically and there are some quite small ones now, so you can see where my thoughts are turning for the next camera.

  3. Nora says:

    I enjoy the fact that you and Tigger are such wanderers. You just get on a train and a bus and go. You don’t seem to be intimidated by the process and get anxious about getting there on time. It seems like a very relaxed way to travel. I must keep that in mind when I travel by public transportation; there is always another train or bus.

  4. SilverTiger says:

    We have got stuck a few times. We missed the last trains and buses one night in Wales and couldn’t get back to our hotel in Caernarvon. We spent the night in a hotel in Barmouth, instead 🙂 We may go back there on purpose as we liked the hotel!

  5. athinkingman says:

    I have both a decent point and shoot and a digital slr. I know what you mean about the lack of a viewfinder. I can sometimes rectify any problem in Photoshop, but if I miss it out of the original, I can’t fix it. I have thought of investing in one of those antiglare shade devices which you can apparently attach to the back of most compacts. Although I love my slr, I find that most of my shots are now taken on my compact, mainly because my compact is no hassle to carry everywhere.

  6. SilverTiger says:

    Convenience is indeed the reason why I bought this model. In the right conditions it is certainly easy to handle and I can always have it with me. Nothing is perfect, of course.

    I do notice, too, that there are now some very small SLRs, such as the Olympus E-410 which I have seen going for about the same price as my compact.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

