Going to a funeral

Liverpool Street StationI took this photo in the Liverpool Street bus station while we were waiting for the 214. The bus station forms a dark canyon and this invasion of light in the form of a reflection was welcome.

Tomorrow we are heading south for Sidney’s funeral. This will provide the occasion for a rare family get-together but in rather sad circumstances.

I have been asked to say a few words about Sidney at the funeral, something I regard as a privilege. Sidney was – is – loved by us all and we shall cherish his memory. It is this that we shall emphasize at the funeral.

Unfortunately, I have done something to my back and can move only with difficulty. Sitting down and getting up out of the chair is already painful. Tigger’s sister was supposed to be taking us down in her car but I foresee problems with my back in a small car. Instead we shall travel by train and be picked up at the station to keep car travel to a minimum.

The funeral is to be a humanist one. I am not sure what that entails and will be interested to see.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in About Us and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going to a funeral

  1. Nora says:

    A humanist funeral sounds good. I hope to read a description of it here.

  2. David says:

    I would love if you share your words with us. It is always enlightening when one reads about others in a tribute sense.

  3. SilverTiger says:

    To Nora: I shall write something about the funeral in a later post.

    To David: I don’t think I can publish my piece on Sidney because it contains matter personal to the family. You can, however, get some idea of it in the comments I made in my post A death in the family.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

