Le marché de dimanche

Nous avons le Marché Français chez nous aujourd’hui. J’y suis tout de suite allé pour voir ce qu’il y avait de bon. Malheureusement, il n’y avait pas grand’chose qui m’intéressait sauf le fromage. Ah, le fromage! J’ai tout de suite répéré le fromage de chèvre et j’en ai acheté parce que j’adore ça!

J’ai aussi remarqué qu’il y avait du fromage de Munster et ça m’a un peu surpris parce que c’est un goût très fort et tout le monde n’aime pas ça.

“Vous vendez beaucoup de Munster ici, en Angleterre?” je demande au type.

“Non, pas beaucoup,” qu’il répond.

Je lui dis que je pense que les anglais n’aiment pas tellement ça.

“Il y a ceux qui l’aiment et ceux qui ne l’aiment pas.” Bonne réponse de marchand prudent.

Mais il est intrigué. “Vous êtes d’où?” me demande-t-il.

“Moi? Je suis d’ici,” je lui répond.

“Comment ça? Vous parlez français. On dirait que vous avez un petit accent belge ou suisse.”

“Oui!” je réponds en riant. “On me prends toujours pour un suisse!” A vrai dire, ça m’amuse.

J’ajoute: “J’ai passé beaucoup de temps en France, avec la famille, en Alsace.” (Ce dernier explique peut-être mon accent “suisse”.)

“Ah!” dit-il, satisfait. Tout le monde aime une explication.

“Au’voir, monsieur, et bonne journée.”

“Vous aussi!” je réponds. Après tout, français ou suisse, on est poli, nous les francophones!

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Le marché de dimanche

  1. Chris says:

    Il fait chaud aujourd’hui. Better get that fromage of yours in the frigo toot sweet, hombre. Otherwise it’s gonna bloomin’ pong (zut alors!).

  2. I am too sleepy to write in French. But when I visit Germany I am always mistaken for being Swiss too. I apparently speak German with a Swiss accent although I have no idea why, most of the time I spent in Germany was in Bayern – the German equivalent to Wales!!

    We had the French market here a few weeks ago and they had the most unusual cheese I had ever tried. It was a desert cheese. It looked exactly like fudge and it was the weirdest thing I had ever tasted. Not sure if I liked it or not but I suppose since it was called fromage I must like it – all cheese is good after all.

    I love to hear French spoken. It is just so romantic somehow.

  3. SilverTiger says:

    Better get that fromage of yours in the frigo toot sweet, hombre.

    Natch. I have some today and it was very good. I shall be looking out for the same cheese stall on other occasions as he had several goat’s cheeses all made by his company.

    But when I visit Germany I am always mistaken for being Swiss too.

    There are worse nationalities to be taken for, I suppose. I am sometimes taken for a “canadien” (that’s French Canadian to the French, of course). Not sure which I prefer – probably Swiss!

    Spoken French is romantic until you have a few monumental rows in it as I have had. That sort of brings it down to earth!

  4. Ted Marcus says:

    I wonder if the cheese sold in American supermarkets as “munster” is the real thing. I’ve tried it, but I’d never consider it a strong-flavored cheese. Perhaps the fact that it’s sold sliced in vacuum-sealed packages, with paper between the slices, indicates an inauthentic product?

  5. SilverTiger says:

    To Ted Marcus: What you describe is not genuine Munster cheese. The real thing has a very strong smell and taste. Even Alsacians call it “stink-cheese” in the local dialect.

    I am very fond of cheese (Tigger calls me “a big mouse” ) but do not eat Munster despite several attempts to like it.

    I would guess that your “Munster” is either a bland American imitation or a toned-down version specially produced for the American market.

    The fact that you say it is sold sliced gives the game away as true Munster comes in the form of traditional round cheeses. When cut, these cheeses run as do other soft French cheeses. You can’t produce thin slices of Munster.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

