A death in the family

News has come that Tigger’s father has died. I mentioned in a recent post that Sidney was very poorly. He had to be taken to hospital a couple of times and this seemed to help a little. As he had done before, Sidney seemed to rally and step back from the brink.

When we last visited him in the nursing home, he was compos mentis and made the effort to respond to what we said but we could see he was not at all comfortable. He was taken to hospital again to sort out a “rattle” in his chest. He seemed to respond to treatment and we were informed that there was no immediate concern. Nonetheless, he died in the night.

He had been doing well in the nursing home and enjoyed telling us about the activities he was involved in such as quiz nights and making flags of all nations. He suffered a couple of health upsets but bounced back from these. The recent decline was more serious and we were expecting the outcome. Even so, it was a shock when it happened.

I have known Sidney for a relatively short time but I loved and admired him. He had an offbeat attitude to life and a mischievous sense of humour. I would have liked to have known him in his prime when he had the adventures that are now fondly remembered family legends.

A self-employed mechanic and welder, Sidney could turn his hand to many tasks. We recently found a wrought-iron gate that he had made, still in place and in use.

He had wide interests and was particularly fascinated by machines, always wanting to understand exactly how they worked. We had many conversations about the books we were reading and he showed a well-informed knowledge of many topics.

He always treated me with a friendly courtesy that made me feel part of the family. Along with the inevitable grief at his disappearance go love and gratitude for the happy memories of a man who was important in all our lives.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in About Us. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A death in the family

  1. I am very sorry to hear the news even though I know you had been expecting it. It always comes as a shock when someone dies even they have been ill for some time. I guess we always harbour some hope even when we know we should not.

    At least you were able to get to know Sidney so you and Tigger will always be able to share memories of him. I think it is much harder to bear somehow when you feel you have no-one close with whom you can talk properly about a loved one.

    Condolences to you and to Tigger.

  2. Big John says:

    I echo the words of ‘Reluctant Blogger’, and offer my own condolences to Tigger and yourself.

  3. Chris says:

    Sympathies from us too.

  4. Em says:

    May I also offer my own condolences to you both.

  5. athinkingman says:

    I am sorry to hear of Sidney’s death. My condolences to both of you.

  6. SilverTiger says:

    Thanks to all for your kind comments. Tigger and I are grateful.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

