My beautiful launderette

Beautiful launderette

Well, not mine, of course; just the one we use. And we used it today but, before that, we had other things to do.

Whittington Hospital

The first thing we had to do was visit this place. If you live in London, you might recognize it as the Whittington Hospital, where I was fitted with my “dolbies”, aka hearing aids. I needed new batteries for them. As you can see, it was another dull day with showers.

Tigger came with me, just as she had accompanied me on all other visits, but this time she made me find the way from Archway tube station myself because she knows I never pay attention when I am with someone and then get lost when on my own. I pretended not to know where I was going but led us straight there!

Café Renoir

After this, we felt we deserved breakfast. Well, remember, we are officially on holiday. So we bussed it to Kentish Town and to Café Renoir. This photo is taken from the interior with my new camera. You may think it isn’t a very good photo but I call it “experimental”, so there.

Despite being on holiday, we decided we really had to tackle the laundry which was well overdue, hence the photo at the top. This is our favourite launderette because the machines are in good condition and there is rarely one out of order. This is important because it takes a bus ride to get there.

Café Restaurant Valencia

As usual, we set our three machines spinning and then went to this lovely cafe on the next corner, Café Restaurant Valencia. In winter we have hot chocolate or tea but in warmer weather like today, freshly squeezed orange juice. We were even able to sit outside as the rain held off.

The Balfour

By the time we had finished the laundry, it was getting on for 5 pm so we decided it was time for lunch. Just across the road is the Balfour, a beautifully refurbished restaurant. We had watched the work being done on it and were curious to try it out.

Starbuck's, New Oxford Street

Having taken the washing home, we set out once more because Tigger, who also has a new camera, wanted to buy a battery charger. We eventually found one and popped into Starbuck’s in New Oxford Street. This photo is taken from inside the coffee shop. Yes, I know, it’s another experimental one.

Evening sky, Islington

Maybe you will like this one better. It’s a picture of the evening sky seen from Pentonville Road on our way home. I rather liked the red blush of evening sunlight against the menacing rain clouds.

There is beauty even in the urban jungle.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My beautiful launderette

  1. athinkingman says:

    I really like the lauderette picture. The metallic ‘eyes’ – some open, some not – almost make the machines look human, as if they are engaging in a conversation together (and with the legs). Sorry, obviously too early in the morning!

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I’m glad you like it, no matter how early in the morning 🙂

  3. emalyse says:

    Love the launderette pic.Looks like a good facility. Sadly they are closing one by one round our way and our nearest now only has around 5 poorly maintained machines.One day they may all disappear , like milk floats relegated to history.

  4. SilverTiger says:

    Yes, it is a good one, though it becomes crowded at times, partly because of the student residences along the road.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

