Lunchless in Harrow

Pinner

Today, Tigger was sent to the Harrow office, finishing at 1:30 pm so, naturally, I went up to meet her. Tigger was out early and I was in the shopping centre so she phoned me. This was the first time I had used my new induction loop and I made a bit of a mess of it but I’ll explain that another time. I will just say here that the loop is very good and works as advertized.

We took the H17 bus from Harrow bus station. In case you don’t know (and why should you, dear reader?), this bus takes you up the hill to the appropriately named Harrow-on-the-Hill. This was perhaps once a delightful rural village but, if so, its place in history was given it by the foundation in 1572 of Harrow School, whose campus spreads over a wide area. The plan was to find a nice little restaurant for lunch. Unfortunately, we were disappointed as we found none that served a decent vegetarian menu.

Pinner Green

The more observant among you will have noticed that the photo above left is not Harrow or even Harrow-on-the-Hill. It is a picture of where we went next, Pinner.

As its inhabitants will no doubt agree (and if any are reading this, please let’s have your comments), Pinner is a charming place, especially the main street which still retains the look and feel of an old market town. Whether it ever was this, I don’t know. Maybe I can find out.

Plaque to John Edward Clark

Near the church, is this piece of green land. You could be forgiven for thinking it was the village common in ancient times but this is not so. The land in fact became Pinner’s by means of a generous donation by one John Edward Clark, as testified by this plaque still in place there, today prettily shaded under the trees.

Food prospects were not better here, so we went back to Harrow (not on-the-Hill). Did we perchance find lunch here? Indeed we did, Sazio’s Italian restaurant was was offering “All you can eat for £5.95”. An opportunity not to be missed!

Pinner Station

After that we were well stuffed, if you pardon the expression, and there was nothing for it but to return home for a cup of tea and a rest. This time we took the Metropolitan Line from Harrow-on-the-Hill station, though this photograph actually shows Pinner Station. You are not allowed to take photos inside tube stations these days, so don’t tell anyone I took this one, OK?

Late breaking news is that Tigger might be going on another courier run tomorrow and I will tag along, if possible. We will not know until tomorrow morning whether it’s on or not but we will be ready to fly off at a moment’s notice. We are so professional!

Edited 19/04/08 for error correction.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunchless in Harrow

  1. The first time you leave a comment on someone’s blog and it will sound really picky!

    I don’t live in Pinner but I know it pretty well. There are lot of nice places to eat in Pinner, although not being a vegetarian I wouldn’t think about it from that perspective particularly, but there is definitely a Sazio’s there, so you could have eaten there.

    Also surely your photo of the station is of Pinner Station and not Harrow on the Hill?

    Pinner is indeed very nice and David Suchet presumably agrees because he lives there.

    Your post made me curious about the history of Pinner and so I had a look and here are a couple of links (neither of which are spam!):

    http://www.pinnerlhs.org.uk/about/about.html

    http://www.pjbartlett.co.uk/Pinner.htm

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I’m flattered to be chosen for your first comment. Thanks for that and for pointing out the error in the ascription of the photograph. I have corrected this.

    Thanks too for the references to information on Pinner which I will peruse it due course.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

