Grumpy comes home

As this is our first day back from our holiday, the usual rituals must be performed. Chief among these is fetching Freya home.

This involves a bus and train journey from Angel to Chingford and then the same in reverse. On arriving at Chingford, I phoned the cattery and was told that Freya was in a “grumpy” mood and disinclined to be picked up. The cause of the problem was apparently that she disliked the cat in the next pen and this made her bad-tempered. This didn’t surprise me particularly, as I know Freya doesn’t much like other cats.

Cat on a trainIn such circumstances, we have recourse to Plan B. (Yes, it has happened before.) I am taken by car from the station to the cattery to persuade Freya to get into her basket. Next, I am taken back to the station, cage in hand, from whence the return journey can continue normally. The picture shows a caged Freya on the train. She doesn’t like it very much and periodically voices her disapproval. This doesn’t worry me too much: after all, parents these days seem to let their infants run riot and scream and shout so why should I embarrassed by a few miaows?

At Liverpool Street Station, I like to catch the 214 which deposits us close to home. Also, just behind the driver there are two seats sideways on with a luggage space between them into which the cage neatly fits. This time, I just missed the 214 but spotted a 153 which brings us almost as close and has the same useful luggage rack.

Happy catBack home, Freya emerges cautiously from the cage: is this really home? Then she explores everywhere thoroughly, giving familiar objects an affectionate rub as she goes past them. Satisfied at last, she rolls around on the carpet to show how contented she is.

So that’s that, for this time. The holiday is over. It was short but it was fun, despite the weather. Freya, at least, is glad to be home.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in About Us and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.