Back from the Isle of Wight

TigerHere we are home from the Isle of Wight. The weather was cold and often wet but there were also bright intervals when we could explore.

The photo shows Aysha, a female tiger at Sandown Zoo. She is very pretty and here at least looks very calm and peaceful but we hear that she recently chased and killed a rabbit that had imprudently come into her enclosure. These cats are highly intelligent and capable of bonding with their human keepers but they are always dangerous. An unarmed human has no chance against an attacking tiger. (Click for a larger version.)

I hope soon to post a page about our trip, together with photos.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back from the Isle of Wight

  1. I look forward to seeing the photos as I love the IOW.

    Your story about the Tiger reminded me of something that my children once witnessed on a visit to a zoo – I can’t think which one. We were looking into the tiger enclosure, trying to spot one of the magnificent beasts, when one of my sons started squealing excitedly, “look, there’s a bunny – I can see his ears.” We all stared into the undergrowth and sure enough there were bunny ears. The trouble was that was all there was – the tiger had munched the rest and it was just a pair of ears lying on the grass. I hurried the boys away but for the whole visit Jack kept saying “can’t we go back and see the bunny.”

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I suppose this must happen from time to time in open-air zoos. I think you were right not to spoil your children’s pleasure.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

