Weekend break

In line with what I said in my last post about telling people when I will be away, I’m letting you know that Tigger and I are going on a three-night break this weekend. We leave on Saturday and return on Tuesday: a nice little skirmish to get the travelling season started.

Tomorrow I have to take Freya to the cattery, a job neither of us likes. It involves taking the bus to Liverpool Street station and the train to Chingford. There is a lot of noise and jolting for a nervous cat. Freya takes it more calmly on some occasions than on others but I am generally proud of the way she has progressed since she first came to live with me.

I may find time to blog again before I go – we shall have to see.

What’s that? I didn’t say where we’re going? Oh, right. Well, of course, I was teasing you. Take a guess: it’s an island and it isn’t very far away. There is a train service on the island and the trains are old London tube trains. There is a zoo with an impressive collection of big cats, which we shall certainly visit. Got it yet?

Isle of Wight

Yes, we’re talking about the Isle of Wight. We have been there before and it’s a very pleasant location. Both of us were brought up near the sea and we still love going to seaside places. There is plenty of seaside on the Isle of Wight – all round it, in fact.

I don’t seem to have a photo of the Island in my own collection, so I have borrowed one from the Web. All being well I shall bring some of my own back with me. (Click on this one to see a larger version.)

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend break

  1. Big John says:

    Judging by the weather forecast, the Isle of Wight may be ‘whiter’ than you think. 😀 Have a great time.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    We did have snow (and rain, and hail…) but luckily, it did not stay.

    Most places are better in the sun and the Isle of Wight is no exception. The difference is, that because it is surrounded by sea, you can often see the weather coming.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

