Disappearing chair

When I boarded the tube at Angel this morning, it was a little less crowded than on previous days. I have no idea why. Perhaps several trains had gone through in quick succession or perhaps by Wednesday people are feeling the strain and starting to take “duvet days”. Or again, it might have been because I left a little later on the grounds that if I am a bit late it doesn’t really matter: I am paid hourly so if I’m late I earn less and that’s that. As it happens, I was in plenty of time so I will aim to leave at that time every morning.

Shall I talk you through my day? No, I don’t think so. It would bore you rigid. There are high points, though, such as lunch. Come to think of it, that’s the only high point. When I went back after lunch today, my chair was missing. Someone had taken it. No one was admitting to knowing who the thief was. Fortunately, one of my colleagues was absent so I took his chair. If he comes in tomorrow we’ll have to sort something out. Who steals chairs and why?

The other members of the mercenary squad have taken to wearing earphones and listening to their iPods or MP3 players, or whatever they use to listen to music. Some of the permanent staff do that as well. Perhaps they find it alleviates the boredom. It wouldn’t suit me, however. If I listen to music, then I listen to it. If I have music running in the background I don’t really hear it and it just ends up annoying me. I prefer silence. My thoughts are noisy enough.

While I work, I can see the drinks dispenser in the corner. Drinks are free. It’s very tempting to keep visiting the machine, especially when you are feeling drowsy. The drinks come in little plastic cups which you throw away afterwards. Rather unecological. The firm also takes a delivery of fruit every day and we can help ourselves. This afternoon as I was working, Tigger came in and gave me a French-bread sandwich. Delicious. It was “surplus to requirements”. What happens is that there are frequent meetings and for the bigger ones a contractor brings in sandwiches, fruit and drinks. Anything left over is up for grabs and so Tigger grabbed me a tasty sandwich.

To come home, I took the tube at Elephant and Castle. I got a seat straightaway and whiled away the journey doing a sudoku in one of the free newspapers. At London Bridge the train became more crowded and I had to push and shove to get off at Angel. Not to worry, I’m beginning to get the hang of this commuting game. It’s almost fun, in a strange sort of way. I’m glad I don’t have to do it all the time, though. That would be depressing.

A friend has just emailed me expressing surprise that I am working rather than, as he puts it, “pursuing your true vocation of doing as you please”. Well, I hope to get back to doing that soon but I’ll be a little richer when I do.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

