Working tiger

I have started the new job and today was the second day, the first of real work because yesterday (Tuesday) was a training day. Before I continue, however, let me apologize to anyone who is wondering about the disappearing post.

When I came home last night, tired and irritable, I wrote a quick post about the job. I wasn’t happy with it for a number of reasons and deleted it this morning. If you read posts in an online RSS reader, you may have a copy of the post but it is no longer on my blog. I hope not to do that too often.

Yesterday, as I was saying, was a training day. The job was explained to us and we were shown what we had to do and given some material to practise on. After this we discussed our results and then finished the session with some more practice.

Today, Wednesday, we started work in earnest. To tell the truth, I was not happy about the job yesterday and wished I had not got involved in it. I didn’t want to let people down otherwise I might have withdrawn. Today I feel better about it. Having got into the work I feel calmer and more confident. The downside is that the work is boring, though they try to ring the changes, and the thought of spending all day at it for four weeks is a rather gloomy one.

The job consists of codifying replies to a survey. These come in several forms – questionnaires, postcards, emails, letters – and we have to read them (yawn!) and assign numbers to each of the points raised. These numbers will be used to do quantitative analyses of the opinions expressed.

I don’t want to go into details about what the survey is about as we all had to sign a non-disclosure contract and I am not sure what can be divulged and what cannot. What I can say is that there are 6 of us “mercenaries” and we are gradually getting to know one another.

I call us “mercenaries”, because the company has a coding department whose members spend their time routinely coding ongoing projects but we have been employed on a temporary basis for this particular job because of the size of it and the short time frame in which to produce results. So we are like mercenaries working alongside the regular army.

Tigger also works in this company which means I can generally arrange to have lunch with her. We may even be able to fit in our traditional Omelette Day on Friday.

It is strange to be working again. I still feel grumpy about it and the way it eats into my day – hardly do I get home when it’s time to go to bed. Perhaps my mood will improve as I get used to it. I will let you know.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Working tiger

  1. athinkingman says:

    I still feel grumpy about it and the way it eats into my day ..

    I can identify with that. My own work tends to be spasmodic in nature. Although I need the money, I like the periods when nobody calls and find myself resenting it when they do. Work is a necessary intervention into private space and freedom. However attractive and rewarding it is, it always ultimately means some loss of control to determine how we will live our lives.

  2. It is such a short term thing you have agreed to, that it will be finished before you know it. You might find that after a few days you begin to enjoy it a bit – the social side of it, maybe?

    I always think with regard to work (and most of mine I do from home thankfully) that the positive things about it are – that it makes you appreciate your leisure time more, you get to meet some different people and chat about stuff, and yeah MONEY!

    Good luck with it anyway. If it is really tedious you’ll know not to bother again!

  3. SilverTiger says:

    I guess I’m just a natural flâneur and dislike being distracted from my profession!

    Part of the problem may be the fact that I haven’t worked for some time and have to get used to it again. The restrictions I once took for granted now feel irksome. Today was better in some ways.

    They have promised us computers in a few days time. Whether or not it makes the work easier, I don’t know, but the change might perk us up, I suppose.

    And tomorrow is Omelette Day!

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

