Another cock-up

I haven’t mentioned anything about the ongoing refurbishment work to our flat recently, so you will perhaps forgive me for returning to the theme today. This is because, just when we thought we could see light at the end of the tunnel, the company involved has inflicted another annoying cock-up upon us. If you want to know which company it is, just look around the Islington area where there is building work going on and you will see their banners everywhere.

As far as I was aware, all work had been completed on our flat except to put right some of their previous cock-ups, such as the wonky washbasin installed by the Useless Plumber. I was therefore a little surprised when, a couple of weeks ago, a gentleman in a hard hat banged on our door (ignoring a perfectly good doorbell) and informed me that within the next two weeks, someone would phone me to make an appointment to replace our windows.

I asked whether he was sure, as all work on the windows was complete, as far as I knew, and the place had been decorated. He made a phone call to check and then said “Oh yes, definitely. This flat.” I wasn’t happy about it but, then again, if the windows need doing they obviously have to be done.

We were in Marks & Spencer’s on Friday when my phone rang. It was the site supervisor ringing to arrange for the window work to be done. We settled on today, Tuesday. The work might be done in one day or might take two, he said. I should have been alerted by the fact that he then said “You have three windows, don’t you?” We actually only have two.

Today, we got up early and prepared for the work. We moved furniture and I took the curtains down. Then I sat and waited. The doorbell rang at about 8:45 am. The labourer peered into the flat with a puzzled look. “I’m not sure this is the place…” he began. “May I look at your windows?” He did and then pronounced: “This is definitely not the flat.” I demanded to see the supervisor. “I’ll send him to you when he comes,” he promised, adding after a brief pause”…if he comes…”

So, of course, I started phoning around and of course, none of the numbers replied. Well, they never do. It is apparently beyond the wit of this company to set up a phone with someone in attendance to field your calls. You nearly always have to leave a message for someone to ring you back. You do not want to hear this when you are upset and furious.

I then remembered I had a number for some office or other to which I had been put through on a past occasion and so I dialled that. I was eventually connected with the site supervisor. He confirmed that he had been given the wrong address. I told him how we had moved furniture and taken down the curtains and made arrangements. He apologized. So I told him all over again, just for good measure. He said he understood my feelings.

So I then asked whether he could confirm that the whole thing had been a mistake and that, as I had originally suspected, no work is needed on our windows. He was unable to confirm this but promised to find out and call me back within half an hour. I am still waiting.

If it turns out that no work needs to be done, I shall feel slightly mollified, to be honest. The fact remains, however, that this is one more lamentable cock-up in a series of cock-ups by this company for which I can see no possible excuse. We have been asked to fill in a questionnaire on our experiences of the refurbishment. They can be sure of a very full and detailed report in an accompanying letter.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in About Us and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

