Gissa job – oh, you did…

I have apparently got a job. Erk! How did that happen!? Well, I know how it happened, of course.

I’ve never really liked working. It distracts you from all the other more interesting things that you can find to do with your time, like surfing the Web, reading about the Romans in Britain, visiting antiques markets and so on. Being beholden to an employer and perhaps being stuck in the workplace when you’d rather be out and about isn’t very appealing, either. On the other hand, work is one of the few relatively easy legal ways of making money and our first expedition of the year is fast approaching. A little extra cash would come in handy.

The best part of a job, I find, is the beginning, when you have just started and you are carried along by the novelty – new place, new tasks, new people. That’s why some folk work as supply teachers or temps. A temporary job has certain advantages. And that’s what this job is: temporary. It’ll be over and done with by the time we go off on our next jaunt towards the end of March but my wallet will be a little fatter.

Of course, I will not be working for myself alone but also for the government. They’ll be getting tax money out of the deal and it gives me a nice warm feeling inside knowing that I am helping to support my country. I expect you know what I mean.

Another good thing about it is the location. I shall be working in the same building as Tigger. We may even be able to go to and from work together and have lunch together.

Tigger’s company needs people for a short-term project and decided to ask around among employees’ families and friends in the first instance rather than going to an agency. I applied, not really bothered whether they took me on or not, and heard today that I have been accepted. I think the work is pretty boring but it’s only for 4 weeks or so – pas la mer Γ  boire – and I can cope with that. And who knows, if all goes well, they might ask me back another time.

I just hope they’re not expecting me to turn up in a suit and tie. It’s dress-down Friday every day of the week, as far as I am concerned, and the contents of my wardrobe reflect this philosophy. No suit or tie in there. A look at the people in the building today suggests that that will be all right.

I shall miss my leisurely matutinal rising and slow breakfast at the computer but it’s only temporary. I keep reminding myself of that. (It’s only temporary, it’s only temporary…) And it’s in a good cause – money. I may even enjoy the change and I am certain to enjoy the extra spending power on our forthcoming trip.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gissa job – oh, you did…

  1. athinkingman says:

    Congratualtions – if that is appropriate. I feel it might be.

    It sounds as if you are about to enjoy the benefits of both worlds – work and unemployment. The financial benefits and stimulation of a different environment (but not long enough for it to become routine and boring), and the knowledge that it will soon end and that you are not tied for life. When you throw in the benefit of lunching with Tigger, it seems ideal.

  2. It sounds great. Well done.

    I love temporary work. I work half-time for the University because, with the children, I need the security of a regular salary, but the other half of the time I take on projects that I fancy. And I love it. If I take on something that ends up being a bit boring it doesn’t matter because I know it has a time limit. I get to talk to loads of new people and there is just a sense of freedom and choice to it that you don’t get with a permanent job. I am less often taken for granted!

    And yes – the extra money and lunches with Tigger sound just grrrrreat! Mind you, you might end up spending all the extra money on them!!!

  3. SilverTiger says:

    “Temporary” is certainly the magic word here. I have held back from other occupations because they were permanent and I couldn’t face an indefinite commitment.

    Depending on how this one goes, I might accept other temporary jobs as long as they don’t come along too often πŸ™‚

  4. Ted Marcus says:

    You never know. You might just enjoy being back in the Working World that you’ll go looking for more once your temporary assignment is over. Anything is possible.

    Meanwhile, enjoy it!

  5. SilverTiger says:

    Indeed, one never knows. The duration is strictly limited whether I like it or hate it. If I like it – and if they like me – I might be able to take part in future projects if there are any, though as this is the only one there has been so far, that seems unlikely.

  6. Big John says:

    Ah! Work, I don’t miss it one little bit, and certainly not getting up at ‘sparrow’s fart’ etc.
    When I retired people said that I would soon get bored. They just didn’t know that I was always a lazy bugger at heart. πŸ™‚

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

