RssReaderLive rises again

In my post RSS Revisited, I said I had been using RssReaderLive and that it had recently ceased sending emails. As the email service has started again, I thought I ought to mention this.

Email notifications of updates to my RSS feeds began again on Thursday (they had stopped on Monday). There was obviously some difficulty as not all emails were as they should have been: some were truncated and others completely lacking a body. Since then things have settled down and the service seems to be back to normal. I have no explanation as to why the service stopped or why it began again because their support still hasn’t replied to my email and I doubt whether they ever will now. Bad marks to them.

In the meantime, I have been looking at other email-delivered RSS readers in the hope of finding one that is both stable and reliable. I have signed up to two of them but I won’t say which they are until I have given them a run for their money. So far neither seems as good as the newly resuscitated RssReaderLive.

What follows is speculation, but I think the problem might be that a service like this depends critically on having use of a good email distribution system. As your service gains in popularity, you will find yourself sending out millions of emails and unless the server you are using has huge capacity, it is likely to collapse under the strain. Is that what happened to RssReaderLive? No one is saying.

How does RSS-by-email compare with other ways of reading your feeds? Personally, I rather like it. If I rely on Google Reader, I have to run it, of course, and keep it running in my browser. There is no need to have a reader open with RssReaderLive: you just receive emails from time to time containing links to updates. Keep an eye on your email program and you can read you updates or leave them until later. You can keep them or file them away, as you wish, without the pesky reader marking them read and making them disappear. You don’t have to worry how good the program is at displaying the feed because you read the feed itself, not a copy.

Do you receive news of updates in a timely fashion? This is a harder question to answer. Since I’ve been looking at RSS readers I have discovered one salient fact: they do not update at the same rate. You will receive a new article in one of them long before you see it in the others. And it isn’t always the same one that gets them first! This makes it very difficult to compare them because checking that each has received all the updates is a very time consuming task and to be honest, I haven’t the patience for it.

Personally, I am glad to receive RSS by email again and will make it my normal mode until further notice.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to RssReaderLive rises again

  1. I have only recently got into RSS feeds at all. I have only tried Google Reader and to be honest it is fine for what I need. I think I would find email updates rather disruptive. I am distracted easily enough by blogs when I should be working – at least with Google Reader I have to actually go there to be distracted whereas if I had emails, I would be hopping off to blogs all the time!

    But I am always impressed by people who experiment with all these things and work out how they work and whether they are effective. It saves lazy people like me from having to do so!

    Right – better get on with some work, I suppose!!!

  2. SilverTiger says:

    Any excuse for avoiding work is a good excuse. RssReaderLive can be set to deliver updates once a day, if you wish, thus doing away with the temptation to read new articles all the time.

    Several times lately Google Reader has failed to load. I don’t know why. Such behaviour does not endear it to me.

  3. There are many Online RSS feed readers and selecting 1 according to your needs is a big task. This leads to the comparison of these feed readers.

    I found a detailed comparison, including Pros & Cons, of some of the best Online RSS feed readers at – http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=971829

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

