We’re going to Leeds!

We have just learned that Tigger, the company Deliverer of Tenders, is off again, all being well accompanied by her faithful companion, SilverTiger.

This time, the destination is Leeds and the trip is at short notice: we are going tomorrow! We will buy the train tickets on the way home tonight.

As far as I remember, I have never been to Leeds, so this should be an interesting trip. If the town looks promising, we will add it to our list places to explore more thoroughly.

Added later:

It has been confirmed: we are off to Leeds tomorrow. We bought the tickets at King’s Cross station on the way home.

We have to start bright and early as the package must be delivered by midday and it is wise to allow for possible delays.

Unfortunately, Leeds doesn’t seem to be convered by the PlusBus scheme but I expect we can buy day passes for the buses in order to explore the city.

I don’t doubt that Tigger will cope with the bus services with her usual aplomb. If she can do it in Edmonton (Canada), she can certainly do it in Leeds!

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We’re going to Leeds!

  1. Ian says:

    I’m from Leeds (although right now I’m wintering in Florida) and I hope you like my hometown. I’ll be very interested to read your comments. As with all big cities, it has it’s run down, underdeveloped areas but probably less than most.
    If you like shopping, it’s a mecca. I’m sure you’ll find everything you want but be sure to visit the many lovely arcades off Briggate (one of the two main streets than form the backbone of the city centre, the other one being The Headrow), the Victoria Quarter (again off Briggate) and spend some time in the mostly covered market which I think is the largest in Europe.
    Most of all, have fun and enjoy the visit.

    Ian

  2. SilverTiger says:

    Thanks for your encouragement and suggestions. We already plan to visit the market. We love markets! I’ll note the other suggestions too.

    Today is dark and wet and if it is like this tomorrow, it won’t be too much fun. Let’s hope we are lucky with the weather.

    Leeds, of course, is a place of historical as well as cultural importance, so I hope we manage to sample what it has to offer. Either way, we are certain to return at a later date.

  3. Oscarandre says:

    I once passed through Leeds on a train and wondered what it would be like to visit. First impressions were not auspicious but it was a grey and wet day and trains do tend to take you through the least attractive areas of cities. I’ll be interested in the results of your exploration.

  4. Pingback: Flying visit to Leeds « SilverTiger

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

