Cold snap

BlizzardWe are currently undergoing a “cold snap”. As I have said many times, I hate the cold. It makes me feel miserable and prone to depression.

In some parts of the world, of course, the cold we suffer in London (it hasn’t even snowed so far this year) would be insignificant. I think of the Canadians I know, for example, telling me heroic tales of snow drifts, digging themselves out and even of guns refusing to fire because the mechanism freezes. Our cold snap would probably feel like a balmy spring day to them.

But I can only feel what I feel. I am glad I live in the big city because here, in the centre, the temperature is a degree or two higher than in more exposed places, the wind not quite so savage, and there are more opportunities to go inside and warm up before continuing on one’s way. It can be a relief to board a bus or a tube train.

Yesterday, we caught the bus to Kentish Town to do some shopping in Poundstretcher. I love these shops. They are stuffed with all kinds of goods and it is fun just wandering around looking for ideas. Afterwards, we went into that pretty little cafe called Renoir. The service is quick and efficient and they don’t mind serving you just a cup of tea even at lunchtime. When I go into a cafe in this weather I only shed my gloves, hat, scarf and finally, coat, gradually, as I warm up. Then I dress up again, like Nanook of the North, before stepping outside into the cold.

I haven’t felt the cold quite so much this year. Either the weather hasn’t been as bad or being able to keep warm at home has made all the difference. I suppose if you start off warm, it takes the cold that much longer to penetrate. Even so, I am looking forward to the coming of spring. Now that the days are beginning to lengthen, there is hope in the air.

I sometimes wonder what it would be like to live somewhere where it is warm all the year round.It sounds enticing. No heavy coats, no freezing feet and fingers, no dodging up side streets to avoid the winter wind. A friend who lived in Oman for a while told me she missed the seasons. I have heard other expatriates say the same thing. Perhaps we need the dark days of winter in order to really appreciate the bright, warm days of spring and summer.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cold snap

  1. athinkingman says:

    I don’t know about missing the seasons, but my few visits to the Mediterranean have helped my understand why they all live so long. Apart from the olive oil, the effect of the sunshine is so uplifting. My wife’s grandparents emigrated to Australia at the age of 70, simply because they found the winters in Hull so depressing. I wish I had their courage.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    While I too enjoy the “uplift” of sunshine, I’m pretty sure that this is largely because of the contrast between it and the dark days of winter. A long period of merciless sunshine and high temperatures soon has the British public complaining. In that sense, you can have too much of a good thing.

    My ideal would be a country where it was always springtime with cool nights and warm days. Unfortunately, such a place doesn’t exist, as far as I know.

  3. Ian says:

    Speaking as a Brit who winters in Florida (Oct-March) I can’t say I miss the seasons at all – but I know many who do. Right now it’s in the low 80’s during the day and thankfully a much more pleasant mid 50’s at night. It isn’t always so and at certain times of the year, the heat and humidity is awful both day and night.
    Of course that’s what air conditioning is for but it’s not much help if you’re out and about and even worse, if you have to work out in it. A few minutes working outside and your clothing is damps.
    Can you please have Michael Fish and his team have warm weather waiting for me in April !!??

    Ian

  4. SilverTiger says:

    Tigger dislikes the heat even more than I do. It was 30 deg C in Edmonton when we were there and even that was a trial. (We survived by drinking wonderful frozen-yogurt fruit smoothies in the local “mall”.

    I too hope we have warm (not hot) weather in and after April. We have a number of expeditions planned.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

