Another RSS reader

Following my post on RSS readers, here is another reader I have been playing with, RSSReaderLive.

This is an oddity but it does have one very interesting feature: it can be set to email you each time one of your feeds updates or to notify you of all updates once a day. The email contains the URL of the new item and when you click on this, you go straight to the article on its original site. You don’t even have to log on to RSSReaderLive first.

The facilities within the reader itself are pretty spartan. All you get is a list of the most recent articles in each feed with 4 or 5 lines of text from the beginning of each. There is no facility for marking these items “read”, “unread”, “keep”, etc. If you like plenty of facilities then this reader is not for you. On the other hand, you can access articles from the email or put the email to one side for later.

The most obvious lack is OPML import. If you want to add feeds, you have to add them individually. Perhaps this will be addressed in a future version.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another RSS reader

  1. emalyse says:

    Thanks for that info. All these things are worth trying. I tried an RSS add on the other day called AideRSS which seems to be a RSS assistant, filtering and highlighting service that works with any other RSS reader (http://www.aiderss.com/)- Useful I guess when your RSS subscriptions get into the hundreds.

  2. Chris says:

    It sounds as if RSSReaderLive has a long way to go before it will be a serious alternative to Bloglines and Google Reader.

    The trouble with RSS though, at least in the UK, is that a lot of people don’t understand what it is. It is still, to some extent, the preserve of the tech-savvy, rather than the general web user. Which is a shame, because RSS has a lot of advantages. Firstly, it can be a big time-saver (don’t visit hundreds of blogs and sites: read them all in one place instead). And secondly, RSS feeds are guaranteed spam-free, unlike newsletters, because you don’t give anyone else your email address every time you sign up to a feed.

    The British public need to be more educated about feeds. Clearly, you, SilverTiger, are just the man to educate them 🙂

  3. SilverTiger says:

    To emalyse: Yes, all these different tools are useful in their appropriate contexts. I don’t have a huge number of feeds and I skip over posts that don’t interest me so an ordinary reader is fine for now but if RSS really takes off and acquires more facilities, who knows where the trends will go?

    To Chris re: It sounds as if RSSReaderLive has a long way to go before it will be a serious alternative to Bloglines and Google Reader.

    This is true for anyone using it as a “traditional” reader. I have ported all my feeds into it and am letting it update me by email. This might work well or I might find myself overwhelmed by emails. It saves firing up the RSS reader only to find nothing has been updated

    I agree that RSS isn’t generally known yet but I expect that will change. I will report on any interesting readers I come across.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

