Identify yourself

While on the subject of novelties (novelties to me but perhaps not to you, dear reader), I recently discovered Typekey. This solved a little problem of mine and I hope it catches on.

It works like this: you sign up for a free account with Typekey and this provides you with a name and a profile (which includes the URL of your blog or Web page and, if you wish, a photo), protected by a password. This is intended for universal use on the Web to validate your identity.

Let’s have an example of use. Read a Blogger blog and click to leave a comment. Having written your comment, you will need to sign it. Under the editor box you will see a drop-down box labelled “Sign in using”. Drop this down and click on “Typekey” and in the box labelled “MEMBER NAME”, type your Typekey name. If you then click on “Preview” or “Publish your comment”, a Typekey sign-in screen appears. Sign in and your Typekey ID is entered into the comment along with a little symbol indicating that your name is validated by Typekey. This means that no one can usurp your ID because if they try, the symbol will not appear beside the name.

When someone clicks on your Typekey-validated name, your Typekey profile appears, showing whatever information you have entered, including, for example, your blog URL.

I like this very much and hope that it, or an analogous scheme, will become universal. After all, you will have chosen your online identity with care and you don’t want others using it and perhaps pretending to be you for nefarious purposes.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Identify yourself

  1. emalyse says:

    I think Typekey supports OpenID too which is another attempt to have a universal secure login across the web.Your WordPress blog can also act as an OpenID server and authenticator too. These things are all dependent on how many sites adopt and allow them I guess (amazing synchronicity here as I just wrote a related post about commenting on Blogger).

  2. SilverTiger says:

    The problem I have with OpenID is that WordPress has given me one but it is the same as the blog login – tigergrowl – not the same as my name – SilverTiger. With Typekey I was lucky enough to get SilverTiger.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

