Who is SocialRank?

Today I received an email from someone at an outfit called SocialRank telling me that they had “launched a new community page on London.Dailyvoices.com that shows you the popularity of every London blog and …today your blog, tigergrowl.wordpress.com has made it into the TOP 10!”.

Now, I know that you, gentle reader, love my blog to bits and can’t wait for the next episode in the ongoing tale of tigerdom but I also know, from the statistics gathered by WordPress and from a little gubbins on my blog page, that I can hardly claim that the world is beating a path to my door. I therefore find it hard to believe that I occupy such a lofty position in the rankings as to be included in the top 10 blogs of London. In any case, a quick look at the indicated page shows me at position 11 rather than at 10 or above.

Easily flattered I may be, but almost as easily do I become suspicious of unexpected (and, as far as I can see, unmerited) accolades. There are quite a few sites out there which, not to put too fine a point on it, rip off your blog as free content for their own purposes. Note that I am not saying that SocialRank is one of these. I just don’t know one way or the other. Opinions trawled up on Google seem divided on the issue.

Now I am sure that there are wise heads out there who know the answer to such conundrums and if perchance any such heads should allow their eyes to fall upon this post, perhaps they would be kind enough to let me know their opinion, either in a comment or by using the email address provided in the right-hand sidebar.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who is SocialRank?

  1. athinkingman says:

    I’m afraid I can’t help out with anything about SocialRank but will be intrigued to follow any discussion here.

    You will doubtless be encouraged to know that when I looked this morning, you have deservedly moved back up to 10th place. It is good to see that quality still counts for something.

  2. emalyse says:

    Socialrank is a blog crawler site that’s popped up in answer to Google’s recent crackdown on blog page ranking manipulation and their attempts to crack down on this (paid links).It supposedly uses social ranking but is really just another marketing tool in the crowded Web 2.0 social media arena.
    see http://www.marketersstudio.com/2007/10/vishen.html

  3. SilverTiger says:

    Thanks to athinkingman for the compliment and thanks to emalyse for the link.

    I am still puzzled as to why they would pick up on my blog. Maybe this will become clear eventually.

  4. Pingback: SocialRank revisited « SilverTiger

  5. Pingback: Another take on SocialRank « SilverTiger

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

