A day off

The setting of our flat to rights continues, but at a less hectic pace. On Sunday we bought a net curtain for one window and ordered one for the other window. Yes, I know that certain people think net curtains are not cool but when you live on a main road in London with draughty windows you are not allowed to change, a good net forms a useful first-stage air filter as well as providing some privacy until the lighting of the lamps in the evening.

We have also been prospecting for a pedal bin for the kitchen. The odd thing about pedal bins is that there are tiny and large and nothing much in between. Argos sells a 12-litre one for a tenner but our local store had run out of stock.

Yesterday I laid the carpet in the lounge. That sounds grander than it is. The “lounge”, you may recall, is an area of the front room, not a room in its own right and the carpet is the one we bought in Chapel Market on Saturday. It measures roughly 6 feet by 9 feet. I started by washing the floor where it was to go, using my new floor sponge. Then I had to move the furniture, unroll the carpet and move the furniture back. I managed all this and was gratified by the result. The carpet is a little bigger than we originally intended and this means reorganizing the layout of the room somewhat but the result is very pleasant.

There are still things to do but when I woke up this morning with a feeling almost like a hangover, I decided I needed a day off. I may do a little light shopping later but apart from that I intend to spend the day shamelessly reading, drinking tea and perhaps plinking at the computer.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in About Us. Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

