Boxes, little boxes

Yesterday, they brought us boxes for us to pack away our belongings to be put in store while the refurbishment is being done. They brought ten cardboard boxes and sticky tape to assemble them and stick the lids down when they are full. It is rather like being given a teacup and being asked to bale out the sinking Titanic.

I have always described our flat as tiny – and it is – but have you any idea what a volume of possessions is contained in a “tiny” flat? If you have moved house recently, perhaps you do have some idea.

We are getting rid of a lot of things. To be honest, we have been brought face to face with a ten-year accumulation of clutter that should have been dealt with before. We have to deal with it now and all within two and a half days because they will be back to cart away our possessions to the store on Thursday. It ain’t gonna happen: it’s simply impossible to clear the place in that amount of time.

I have run away to the computer to write this post. It is my equivalent of curling up in a tight ball and closing my eyes. My world has suddenly been turned upside down. I don’t know where anything is or if I do know, my reflexes haven’t adapted yet and I keep reaching for things that aren’t there.

Looking for a plastic bag to dispose of rubbish I suddenly realized that the top cupboard in the kitchen unit is still full. The unit will be ripped out so the cupboard has to be emptied. But its contents are things we use on a daily basis and will need during the refurbishment. I have to find somewhere to keep them, or something to keep them in, so they can be moved around but still be available for use.

One of the items that will have to be moved around but still be available for use (e.g. stroking and cuddling) is Freya. She is already rather anxious at the changes to the flat and I do not know how she will react to the work and the noise. I can’t afford to put her in the cattery for 4-5 weeks. We’ll just have to sweat it out together the best we can.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in About Us. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Boxes, little boxes

  1. emalyse says:

    Clutter kind of creeps up on you until such time as you have to move or find it getting in the way of doing things (no more room for new stuff?). We all accumulate more “stuff” than we have space for hence the growth in those temporary storage places.They’re a good way to clear stuff out and then work through it all ‘off site’.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I am feeling a little less anxious now. We worked really hard today and filled the available boxes. I phoned for more but they didn’t come so I went down the road to SafeStore and bought some.

    Tomorrow we have to start on the back room. In order for this to happen I have to clear a space in the front room so we can move things around in a kind of domestic chess game.

    Once the central heating is installed, the bed can return to the back room and the front room can become a sitting room cum study again.

    I am quite looking forward to it.

  3. Em says:

    My ‘office’ at home is where everything ends up – we haven’t got a loft ladder so can’t a) get at the stuff we put up there last year when we borrowed one or b) move more stuff up there. So it all just piles up in the office. It’s time for a clearout…

    You have my sympathies, it’s only 2 years since we moved and it was a nightmare. There’s ALWAYS a cupboard or drawer that you’ve missed. Collapsible crates are invaluable…and those large plastic bins with wheels on that are allegedly for putting kids toys in – just wheel them from room to room as required…

  4. SilverTiger says:

    It’s just as well we don’t have a loft as it would also be crammed full. By her own admission, Tigger is a hoarder whereas I get positive pleasure out of discarding things I no longer have a use for. We are having to work through the fruits of over 10 years of hoarding…

    I have taken so many bags around to Oxfam in the last couple of days that they are beginning to look alarmed when I walk in…

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

