On the way to Angel

Having bought tea from Bramah, I rejoined the tube network at London Bridge and settled down to read The God Delusion. We reached the last stop before mine and…

… a young man seated opposite me leans forward, points at the book and enquires “Please sir, what is this book about?”

OK, I have 1.5 minutes to deal with this…

“It’s about atheism and the reasons for it.”

“And you, do you believe?”

“No, I am an unbeliever.”

“You do not believe in God?”

“No.”

“Then where do we come from?”

Good grief… In 30 seconds?

“Erm, complicated question, I don’t have time to go into it: read the book.”

“Yes, but where do morals come from?”

Oh, lumme not that old chestnut.

“It’s genetic: we can’t live together if we are busily killing one another, can we?”

“Yes, but where do they come from?”

[Sigh]

“Sorry, I have to get off here. Read the book. READ THE BOOK. All the answers are there.”

He waves a slim red volume with red page ends at me. “No, the answers are here.”

“But they are the wrong answers,” I say, stepping off the train…

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Ideas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the way to Angel

  1. athinkingman says:

    Of course, the tragedy is that he has probably never been able to think ‘outside the box’ or even consider reading anything that might challenge his ‘box’. The mere suggestion that he read something like “The God Delusion” would be resisted because it might weaken his faith.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    Tigger suggested he might nonetheless be prompted to look into the matter further. Who can tell?

    To look on the bright side, I was favourably impressed by his politeness and his wish to discuss things with me. This suggests at least curiosity.

    If I had had time, I would have recommended Julian Baggini’s book Atheism in the Short Introductions series because it is short and non-polemical.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

