ShiverTiger

The warm sunny autumn weather that we have been enjoying now seems to have come to an end. The temperature has fallen, something I consider with anxiety. As noted elsewhere, we have no heating because our gas fire has been disconnected by an officious gas engineer.

This was not for failure to pay our bills but because the law apparently does not allow gas fires in bedrooms. The gas fire, the only heating appliance in the flat, is actually situated in the living room cum kitchenette. Because the back room, which has no heating, is freezing cold in winter, we moved the bed into the living room, and thus turned it, in the eyes of punctilious gas engineers, into a bedroom.

“If I hadn’t noticed it, it would have been all right,” he declared cheerfully. “I almost missed one in another flat. It was behind a settee so I didn’t see it. I noticed it at the last minute and disconnected the gas fire.”

“So if I’d hidden the bed somehow, it would have been OK?” I enquired.

“Oh, yes. But now I’ve seen it I have to disconnect the gas fire.”

When the flat is refurbished, gas central heating will be installed. We said rather firmly that we didn’t want it but there is no choice in these matters. Central heating shall be installed and thou shalt like it or lump it.

“And anyway, the boiler heats your bath water.”

Killer argument.

The flat is scheduled for refurbishment starting on October 15th and the work will take 4 to 5 weeks, so it could be the end of November before we have any heating. As one who feels the cold, I am shivering in anticipation.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger. Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

