A great day

SilverTiger
SilverTiger on the platform of Westgate-on-Sea station

After a little rest from shopping we did indeed hie ourselves hence to Margate or, to be more accurate, Westgate on Sea. We caught a bus to London Bridge Station and while Tigger queued for tickets, I bought baguettes and coffee. The plan was to travel to Margate and take the bus from there to Westgate on Sea, but the train stopped at the latter station so of course we disembarked there.

The journey was uneventful and our business soon conducted, leaving us free to return. We had a 40-minute wait at the station and as I had recently dug out my old camera, I decided to take a few snaps, including one of myself which I have appended, as I thought you might like to see it.

As our trip was very short, there isn’t much to say about it. Instead I will comment on an event that makes today an important date in history.

You probably guess what I am referring to but in case not, let me work up to it in my usual round-about manner. After our laundry expedition yesterday, we stopped at Pizza Express opposite the British Library for a pizza. As we entered, the head waiter approached and perspicaciously proposed a table for two. We assented and he then pronounced a phrase that head waiters have pronounced from time immemorial: “Smoking or non-smoking?”

We took our seats and I said to Tigger “All being well, that’s the last time we will hear that question on entering a restaurant.”

Today, of course, is Smoking Ban Day and we have eagerly awaited it ever since the good news broke that it was to become law.

People outside Britain may not be aware of this important advance in civilized living so I will briefly explain. From today, smoking is prohibited in all enclosed public spaces (e.g. restaurants, pubs, train stations, workplaces, etc). People who breach the ban can be fined and managers of premises have a duty to prevent smoking from taking place or be subject to a fine themselves.

I will not go into the rights and wrongs of the case, which seem pretty clear to me, and will limit myself to saying that it is a huge relief as we will now be able to go for a drink or a meal in a cafe, pub or restaurant without being fagged-out by smokers. High time.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger. Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

