A wet room, hurrah!

I concluded yesterday’s post grumbling that the surveyor had not put in an appearance long after the appointed time. He did eventually arrive and when he did there were three of him. Or putting it another way, it wasn’t a surveyor but a team of surveyors.

Three surveyors plus two occupants makes five bodies and five bodies are rather a lot for a flat as small as ours. We managed somehow. I told the tallest and most sympathetic-looking surveyor about the gas fire being disconnected. I went for a noble sadness rather than a cringing whine and hope I succeeded. Not that it mattered. He nodded and said they were going to remove it anyway. Gas fires has become difficult to maintain and the Council was doing away with them.

So what would we have instead, I wanted to know, fearing the worst. He then confirmed the worst: gas-fired central heating. We explained we didn’t want it and would rather have the gas fire, please, but to no avail. We are getting gas-fired central heating, apparently.

Tigger suggested someone might like to consider the bathroom as we had a list of topics relating to it. Two surveyors and Tigger went off to the bathroom but I stayed behind. It is hard to get one person into our bathroom, let alone three, and four would have been impossible so I stayed behind and held the end of the tall surveyor’s tape measure. He was measuring the room with a view to refurbishing the kitchen corner. They are going to plan a new one for us and draw plans for us to look at.

At this point Tigger returned with a happy smile. “A wet room!” she declared.

“Er, a what?”

“A wet room. We’re getting a wet room!”

Tigger was clearly excited by the news so I thought I’d better be enthusiastic too. And I was. Sufficiently, I hope. And then I thought to ask what a wet room was.

Apparently, it’s like a bathroom, only wetter. The whole room is like one big shower cubicle, if you can imagine a shower cubicle that contains a shower and also a washbasin and a toilet. The major advantage seems to be that you don’t have to worry about getting water on the floor and it dripping on your neighbour’s head downstairs. It’s all contained. I wondered whether you could have a shower while sitting on the toilet but I expect we’ll have to wait and see.

It was all a lot more exciting than I expected and after they had gone we had a little rest and discussed it all. Then Tigger had an idea but didn’t tell me what it was. It involved going out, so I fetched my hat and jacket and off we went. I didn’t ask where we were going as this was supposed to be a surprise and knowing in advance would have spoilt it.

After a couple of buses, we arrived at the newly refurbished Royal Festival Hall. I used to go there quite often but had not visited since it reopened.

We saw that there was a place where you could buy programmes and ice cream. I went to buy ice cream but when I looked in the fridge, it was empty. “Sorry,” said the young lady, “they haven’t arrived yet.” So I went to the bar and bought cranberries juices. At £5 for the pair I think they were profiteering but I didn’t say anything so as not to spoil the mood.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A wet room, hurrah!

  1. Chris says:

    A wet room eh? I’d be a bit scared of slips and falls in one of those; I prefer the wet to be confined to the bath area. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it though.

    However, it is said that the way a person behaves when in a wet room is a clear indication as to their social status and upbringing. So the question is, will you be wearing wellies or not?

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I assume that the dangers of slipping have been taken into account in the design though nothing is certain in this world. We shall have to wait and see.

    Having suffered teasing at school because an overly protective mother insisted on dressing me in raincoat, sou’wester and wellies at the least sign of rain and moreover threatened dire consequences if I didn’t put on all this clobber during break, I haven’t worn that footwear since childhood.

    I shall miss the bath. It is very short so I have to fold up to get in it but I am rather fond of it. On many a winter’s day I have lain in the comforting warmth of the water wondering whether I have the courage to get out into the cold air of the unheated bathroom.

  3. Pingback: How wet was my wet room « SilverTiger

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

