Reunion

While I was in the chemist’s shop this morning, my phone rang. This was my backup phone, as you may recall that my beloved Communicator 9300 had to go back to Nokia for repairs.

The backup is a Blackberry whose ringtone is as quiet as a shy child asking to go to the toilet so I didn’t hear it straightaway. By the time I had got it out of my bag, there was a voicemail waiting. It told me that my Nokia was back from its convalescence and ready to be collected. Yippee!

On relinquishing it into the care of the phone shop, I had done a quick backup of my data onto the memory card, having been warned that the repair was likely to cause any files to be erased. This worried me somewhat as I had important and irreplaceable files on the phone. Yes, I know, I should have backed them up to the PC. In the event, I hoped the backup had taken care of them.

One of the files on the phone is the household accounts and for the last 10 days we have been collecting bills and notes-to-self in anticipation of bringing the accounts up to date. Concern about this added a note of drama to the joyful reunion.

A glance at the phone’s desktop confirmed that all my files had indeed disappeared, along with my customized wallpaper. The hope now was that the files had survived on the memory card.

I took the phone home and settled down to set it all up again. My worst fears were confirmed: the backup program is somewhat deficient. It only backs up the contacts list and the calendar. If you want to back up your files, you have to copy them manually.

There are times when you simply have to draw a line under all that has gone before and start afresh. This was one of them. The old world has flown off into limbo, never to be recalled and the new world starts today. I spent a couple of hours recreating the spreadsheet files and promising myself not to neglect my backups in future. A bit like the drunkard who says “Never again”.

The main thing is that I have my Communicator back. I have restored the sound files so that I will be awoken to the Black Cat Rag tomorrow. The Blackberry’s discreet buzzing wouldn’t disturb anyone’s slumbers but the Communicator playing ragtime will arouse even a sleepy tiger.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reunion

  1. emalyse says:

    Lack of backup happens to the best of us and even if we do backup, sometimes it just doesn’t all go back as expected. Fresh starts force a rethink sometimes. I’m forever involved in backing up punters computers in preparation for a wipe out and fresh start and always have to point out that there’s always a slim chance it won’t all go back as expected (nothing like that comes with a guarantee). It’s not always received philosophically.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

