Clock this

ClockI love clocks and have done for as long as I remember. The clock in the picture may well have inspired this love. It has accompanied me all my life. For the last two years, it has been lying in a plastic bin bag in the bottom of a wardrobe but last weekend we finally made room for it in our living room and I celebrated the joyful reunion.

The last time I had it serviced, the clockmaker described the clock on the receipt as “German strike with barley twists”. This, being interpreted, means that the clock was made in Germany, probably in the early 20th century, strikes the hours and half-hours and has decorative wooden spirals on the front corners. From its appearance, I would guess that it was not an expensive clock. The vaguely boot-shaped panels on the front are slightly asymmetrical and the barley twists differ slightly for one another.

The movement, however, is solid. It has been working now for the best part of 100 years. It has been cleaned and oiled a few times but, as far as I know, no parts have been replaced except the mainspring. This broke one day as I was winding it. This was a somewhat frightening experience because I was left holding a key under tension with no idea what to do next. In the end I withdrew the key because if I had simply let go of it, it would have spun and possibly damaged my fingers. As it was, as the key came out and the spring unwound, it kicked the key against my thumb which was painful for several days.

What is it that charms me so much in this and other clocks? In the first place, their faces attract me. To me, clock faces are almost as unique and expressive as human faces. Each one is different. Whether they have Roman numerals or ordinary numerals, each has an individual character. They smile or frown, look severe or welcoming. Some are shy and retiring, others bold. Some are decidedly sinister while others are warm and reassuring.

Another important characteristic of clocks is that they have moving parts and make sounds. Apart from their chimes, clocks emit clicks, clunks and whirring sounds as they adjust to the changing pressure of the springs, prepare to strike, etc. They are almost like living things. I am here talking about what I call “proper clocks”, clocks with clockwork- or gravity-driven movements and pendulums or some similar regulatory device. There is something comforting about the ticking of a well set up clock*. I like to hear the clock calmly striking out the hour when I wake up in the night.

I would like to extend my collection of one but the cost of fine old clocks is prohibitive. It would be good to have a wall clock, not a long-case, but a round clock, striking if possible, the sort of clock that used to grace station buffets, RAF messes and pubs. You can buy reproductions but that is not the same.

Or perhaps a marine clock, one of those lovely brass clocks designed to be attached to a bulkhead. I once saw an advertisement for one that had been salvaged from a wreck. Imagine a clock that had sailed the oceans, then sat at the bottom of the sea for years, had been rescued and cleaned up, and was now ticking away contently on my wall, a clock with history.

In the meantime, I am happy to be reunited with my old clock and to hear him (for some reason “he” is male) ticking away and striking the hours and to perform the weekly ceremony of winding the clock.


*Owners of pendulum clocks don’t always realize that whenever you move them to a new position, they need “setting up”. If not set up properly, their ticking is uneven and they will perhaps run slow or keep stopping. You may be able to remedy this by putting wedges under the corners but the proper way to do it is as follows.

Open the back of the clock so that you can access the pendulum. Listen to the beat. It should be absolutely even like the steps of a healthy person walking, not like someone limping. If the tick is uneven, push the pendulum gently to one side until you feel resistance, then give another gentle push.

Set the clock going again. Is the ticking now more even or less so? If less, then you pushed the pendulum the wrong way. Try pushing it the other way. If it is better but not yet perfect, give it another gentle push in the same direction. Continue until the ticking is absolutely even.

This process requires patience. All clocks are different and react differently. You may have to carry out the setting-up process several times until you achieve the final result.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Clock this

  1. emalyse says:

    My Grandad used to have a look not too dissimilar to the one shown which had to be wound up and made a distinctive ticking noise which I can hear in my mind and which conjours up the sights,sounds and smells of his house (he was a keen pipe smoker). The clock stopped on the day my Grandad died aged 96 (presumably because he hadn’t wound it up that day). My maternal Grandma has several wind up clocks dotted around her house and moving from room to room was an experience of different timbres of ticking. She had a particular morning ritual of winding each clock up periodically and when finished she would gently put each clock back in place with a kind of proud respect that she had a small hand in the life of her many clocks.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    This one is an 8-day clock so I have a week’s grace in winding it. (Clocks were originally 7-day but this meant you had to wind them at exactly the same time each week or they would stop. Some bright spark realized this problem could be overcome by making them 8-day instead.)

    I understand your Grandma’s pride and passion. Even when I am wearing a watch, I prefer to look at a clock to check the time. Need I say that the clocks I prefer are the traditional 12-hour clocks with hands, not digital clocks?

  3. Chobadangi says:

    Thanks! I have a clock on our mantlepiece – heavy marble variety with a lovely chime on the hour and the half hour. I had been shown how you can actually turn the clock slightly in its housing to correct an uneven tick. This works well. However, you eventually end up with it rotating further and further and the clock looks odd with the number 12 10 degreees off the vertical! So it was great to see your tip about GENTLY pushing the pendulum. I had tried doing it before but was nervous about breaking or harming anything. your tip gave me the confidence to push a little harder and – hey presto! It moved easily and i now have an even tick and the 12 at the top. Hooray!

    • SilverTiger says:

      I’m pleased to know that you have got your beautiful clock working nicely again. I can imagine what a pleasure that is.

      If my words helped to bring this about then I am even more pleased. In fact, it made my day!

      Also replied by email.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

