I just snapped

Some people might call me fussy. Or perhaps “uptight”. Or tell me to “chill” or even to “get a life”. Why would anyone say such things to a gentle old SilverTiger? Well, because I have rather definite ideas about what is and is not permissible when it comes to approaching people. I don’t mind folk asking me the way but draw the line at “chuggers” and other unsolicited intrusives.

The same goes for the online world. I regard spam as quite execrable. I don’t care what the content of the email is. If the sender has no reasonable expectation that I will welcome his communication, he should not send it.

Spam is not the only unwarranted and unwanted invasion of our online privacy, of course. There is a long list of them from spyware and popups to those sneaky cookies people place on your system in order to track your activities.

Another pet annoyance has hit our screens recently. I refer to those irritating popups from Snap.com. As far as I am concerned, they are useless, bothersome and an unwarranted intrusion. You can get rid of these little intruders on your own WordPress blog. You probably know how to do this but I didn’t, until a kind person told me.* However, this doesn’t stop them appearing when you visit other sites where they are turned on.

You can, of course, click on “Disable” in one of the popups but this is only a temporary solution. This action places a cookie on your system and as long as the cookie is there, Snap.com popups do not appear. (You have to reload any pages open at the time.) But this isn’t much good if, like me, you clear out your cookie infestation when you close your browser because you then have to disable the popups again next time. In any case, why should I have a Snap.com cookie on my PC to stop them giving me popups that I didn’t want in the first place?

Fortunately, there is a solution that doesn’t involve Snap’s own cookies, at least if you use Firefox as your browser. You start by installing the extension called Adblock Plus. This installs easily and quickly. Then you click on Tools > Add-ons. You should see a list of your add-ons in the window that opens. Adblock has a button labelled Options. Click this to bring up the next screen. Click on Add filter… and in the box that opens, type “spa.snap.com” (without the quotes) and then click OK at the bottom of the window.

That seems to stop them in their tracks, at least for now.


*Go to your WordPress Dashboard, click on Presentation and then on Extras. On the resulting window you will see the Snap enabling option which you can untick. Click Update Extras to complete the job.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I just snapped

  1. Chris says:

    People’s opinions vary when it comes to all that Snap nonsense. Some don’t mind their popups: others, like me, find them intrusive. To my mind, Snap should have been opt-in rather than opt-out.

    Thing is, when a visitor comes to read the latest Silver Tiger entry, they have no way of knowing whether you actually left Snap popups enabled deliberately or not. Now, of course, we know that you were not aware of how to turn them off. But in some cases a passing reader might just have clicked away from your site out of sheer annoyance.

    Personally, I often disable Javascript, and this tactic stops not only Snap but also lots of other unnecessary ‘bells and whistles’ that people think makes for a great visitor experience. In my own opinion, most gadgets and gimmicks are a poor substitute for good content.

  2. Moon Topples says:

    I know a tiger with a title to defend…

    Just popping by to remind you and your readers about the GBA(s)FC #2, which kicks off May 1st over on my blog. Hope to see you there.

    Sorry to post off-topic.

    As to Snap: I threw it onto my blog, and it has been an irritant ever since. I do plan to get rid of it, once I can remember where the code is embedded.

  3. SilverTiger says:

    To Chris: I worry that this is the beginning of a new sort of spam where site managers, like WordPress, take money in return for implementing intrusive popups and adverts. While Snap can be disabled, it takes time to find this out, and perhaps the snapists of the future will employ methods to bypass blocking mechanisms.

    It is interesting that when I contacted WordPress support, they did not even tell me how I could disable Snap on my own site. Was this an oversight or deliberate?

    To : Good luck with disabling Snap. The more publicity given to this, the better.

    Good luck also with the competition. I will try to put up a post reminding people of it. (I am still sorting myself out from a weekend away.)

  4. Moon Topples says:

    The difference for me, SilverTiger—and it shames me to admit this—is that I added the damned thing myself. It doesn’t come prepackaged on Blogger blogs.

  5. SilverTiger says:

    One has to try things to see how they work out. Your blog shows uncommon knowledge and skill in its development and it seems reasonable that you would try out facilities that become available. Not everyone dislikes Snap. Maybe some of your readers consider it a plus.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

