Out of the wood, onto the board

The cough that has been interrupting my sleep, with the expected consequences, has finally begun to fade away. In that sense, I am out of the wood.

Life has been busy in other ways. A small group of us often discuss language issues on one another’s blogs. Discussion is sometimes passionate though always polite (at least so far!). It occurred to me that it might be a good idea to set up a mailing list or a message board dedicated to this subject. The others readily agreed and a message board was the preferred solution.

I have therefore spent about a week intensively researching message board software and sites offering free message boards. This is a popular application so there is no lack of choice. I must have set up at least a dozen experimental boards in at least three softwares, to check whether the facilities I had in mind were available and the site was fast and reliable.

The best known message board software is probably phpBB. This is a very stable system with lots of facilities and good security. In the end, however, I plumped for its near rival Invision Power Board, usually known simply as IPB. The reason I chose this in preference to the other was, firstly, that I like it and, secondly, that it comes with an RSS feed. That’s not as good as it seems, however, and I have never managed to make this work in the way that I had hoped.

I enjoyed setting up the board and negotiating the learning curve that doing this entailed. I am one of those people who, once they get a bee in their bonnet, can’t let it go until the job is finished. I was even dreaming about message boards by the time I reached concluded the project! In that sense, it’s a relief that it’s done.

On Saturday, I had to take time out as it was one of our Margate Saturdays, when we go down to that seaside town to visit Tigger’s parents. We leave home about 9 a.m. and get back around 11 p.m., making a long and tiring day. Just as well we have a lazy day and a cafe breakfast to look forward to on Sunday!

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Out of the wood, onto the board

  1. xztheericzx says:

    i’m eric. joining a couple boards and looking
    forward to participating. hehe unless i get
    too distracted!

    eric

  2. oOgerryOo says:

    Hey,
    I’m Gerry.

    Just saying hey – I’m new.

  3. APOPEDORK says:

    I’m the only one in this world. Can please someone join me in this life? Or maybe death…

    • SilverTiger says:

      Try commenting constructively on some more recent posts. You’re more likely to get a reply.

      Then again, if you are alone in the world, there’ll be no one to answer you, will there?

  4. alanbeasley says:

    Hi there, I am getting a large number of students that can’t access the internet. When they log on and open IE they don’t get the default web page or a log in screen. It appears to be random, I have tried setting up new user accounts but this also appeasrs to be hit and miss on whether they get access.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers
    Alan

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

