Email

EmailI love email. Maybe I am even addicted. I run my email client almost continually when I am at home and that’s why people are quite often surprised at how quickly I reply to their messages.

I also love my mobile and take it everywhere with me. I am a great texter, especially when I am abroad because sending texts is cheaper than phone calls. But email beats even that.

In addition to writing the usual sorts of short emails, I have correspondents with whom I exchange lengthy messages that usually take me several days to complete. This is the modern equivalent of having pen friends and it works very well. An email goes round the world in less time than it takes to say whereas a letter can take days or even weeks.

I currently have five email accounts which I keep separate. This means I need a competent email client so as not to get the accounts muddled. For example, Mozilla Thunderbird is a gallant little email client but it has serious faults from my point of view. I won’t bore you with these as you are probably not interested. If you are, you can always email me and ask 🙂 Then there is a certain other email client whose name you should not mention in polite society. You probably know which one I mean.

Because of this, I am somewhat obsessive about email clients. I currently have four installed which is relatively few for me. No email client is perfect yet most have good features not shared by the others, so I tend to use whichever one suits my mood or I run it for a while until its faults annoy me and I change to another one.

The one I use most often is TheBat! which is very powerful and is the one that comes nearest to doing everything I want an email client to do but it also – inevitably – has faults. I have been trying to get away from it for years but I always end up coming back to it.

I long ago learnt not to trust my ISP to deal with my email. After suffering failures and delays from every connection provider that I tried, I found a company to host my domain names and provide email services. They have provided a splendid service with very few hiccups and will continue using them for the foreseeable future.

Spam is a problem, of course. No matter how careful you are, you will eventually get spam. I’d rather have spam and emails than neither, so I’m pretty relaxed about it. I also have a good spam filter, Popfile, though I always go through my junk file just in case a genuine email has been misdiagnosed as spam. The one you lose could be the most important.

See the sidebar for SilverTiger’s email address.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Email

  1. ggwfung says:

    it’s great being connected, all the time. Sort of a substitute for telepathy 🙂

    having email addresses everywhere is a pain. Multiple work, multiple personal – it’s an identity crisis.

    I always appreciate your prompt and thorough replies.

    ggw

  2. Cailleach says:

    Being connected – you can’t beat it. I too have a split personality email wise, but always end up using the one-that-shall-not-be-named, because it’s the one I’m most used to. Someone somewhere will come up with the ideal solution in the not too distant future… if we believe, they will come… 😉

  3. Brian Barder says:

    I too have lots of clients and e-mail addresses. More and more I use Googlemail which has the advantage of being accessible from anywhere (and I don’t care if some snooper at Google is reading my e-mails). I also try to delete the bulk of my spam using mail2web so that it doesn’t bung up my Outlook Express Inbox. Googlemail’s spam filter is pretty reliable and I find that Akismet picks up most of the spam sent from my website. I use Outlook Express mainly so that I have messages stored on my hard disk, for when I’m away and can’t go online: so that I can save messages to my main file structure with one click (which you can’t do in Googlemail except by copy-and-paste): and because I have several friends who use their computers much less than I do and who look to me for advice when they have a problem with their e-mail — and they all of course use Outlook Express. I ought to go over to Thunderbird, I know, but I’m too lazy.

    I also have a couple of Yahoo mail accounts, an AIM account and a Lycos one, plus an e-mail account with Leicester University (@le.ac.uk) because of a rather tenuous relationship that I have with the place but which I’m childishly pleased with — the email address, not especially the university.

    Brian
    http://www.barder.com/ephems/

  4. emalyse says:

    I’d also recommend using Gmail/Googlemail. I have several personal and business emails thatare all handled by Googlemail. It’s the ease of search I love togther with the ability to manage such a lot of mail and info, storage etc without becoming a cludge (is cludge a word?).

  5. SilverTiger says:

    I have looked at Google email and it seems quite good as far as these things go but I have a prejudice against Web mail perhaps dating back to the days when they were pretty primitive.

    Also I no longer regard Google as unequivocally on the side of Good. The fact that they keep your email forever strikes me as sinister. I delete my emails after 100 days: why would a third party want to keep my mail eternally?

    Nor do I like the idea that the usernames and passwords of my email accounts are stored on a site over which I have no control. I am surprised so many people do this so casually.

  6. emalyse says:

    I guess everyone uses what works for them (I was only saying what works for me). I use Gmail professionally and maintain my own backups.I don’t delete any email- as it’s mostly business email so i’m not gonna delete anything unless it’s out and out junk as I need to keep records. Not sure about the password thing as all email services have your username and password on their email server so unless you host your own email server and your own domain that’s going to be hard to get away from. Very few businesses are completely ethically sound so for me it’s using the least evil of the bunch. All part of life’s great compromise.

  7. SilverTiger says:

    I agree to people using what works for them. Like you, I was saying what worked for me or, rather, what didn’t, in this case.

    I also agree that as everything operates with usernames and passwords on the Web and Internet, we have to trust those we deal with and accept that a (we hope) small percentage will let us down.

    I think it’s best to reduce the risk as far as possible and for personal matters such as emails to avoid a freebie service that owes no allegiance or legal obligation to its clients. That’s just my view which others might see as unduly cautious.

  8. emalyse says:

    No probs- just expressing me ‘umble point of view- we all use what we use based on our own experiences – I do pay for the commercial version of Gmail as I need the increased space and support options. I would point out that even the paid for stuff (especially most underlying computer operating systems) also have no legal obligation to anybody (& actually says so in the terms and conditions of use). Thanks for your comments over at my place, btw.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

