Message board

One of the pleasures of blogging is receiving comments to one’s posts. I think that comments turn blogging into a community. The blog statistics show that more people visit my blog than ever leave comments. Whether they actually read my posts or merely stumble on my blog by accident isn’t clear. Not that it matters: everyone is welcome to take a look at my blog whether you come here on purpose or by accident.

If in addition to visiting you leave a comment then that is the gilt on the gingerbread, as they say. I realize that people don’t always feel like leaving a comment, either because they are shy or because they don’t think they have anything to add to what is written in the post. This is why I set up the guestbook: it allows people to indicate their presence without committing themselves to writing on the topic. By its nature, though, a guestbook is something you use once or, at least, only occasionally. So I had another idea.

I have set up a message board or forum. You will find the link on the right sidebar under the heading Message Board. Clicking the link “Discuss things here” will take you to a very simple message board. You are welcome to post messages here about any topic whatsoever and to reply to messages left by other people. There is one proviso: If I disapprove of a message for some reason I reserve the right to delete it.

The message board has no topic, so you can’t be “off-topic”. You can write about anything, not just the topics in my posts. The more the merrier.

I don’t know whether this will work or simply die a death. There is one way to find out: click the link and give it a go.

The message board has been discontinued.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Message board

  1. ggwfung says:

    I think there are a lot of people still getting used to this interactive world. We have been so used to the media being one-directional, “we talk, you listen”, or even when there is an option for feedback like the letters section or talkback radio, having that edited, that this new freedom takes a while to grapple with.

    Once the ice is broken, and readers feel as though they are making a valued contribution, the words start flowing.

    ggw

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I think the “online world” (to give it a vague name) has given a voice to ordinary people as never before. Today, large numbers of people write regularly for some sort of public consumption (blogs, chats, Web pages, etc.) who in years gone by would hardly ever have written more than the occasional note to the milkman.

    After a couple of decades in the messaging business, though, I know that people need stimulating in order to write. Forums are often animated by a small number of creative contributors and when any of these go on holiday or leave, the number of messages falls off exponentially.

    My little message board will “work” if people contribute to it, not otherwise. Obvious? A lot of things in life are 🙂

    SilverTiger

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

