Winter blues

I really feel the cold. It seems to penetrate to my marrow and once I am cold, it takes a very long time for me to warm up again. The cold makes me feel miserable and pessimistic. Naturally, I don’t like any of this and therefore anticipate the winter with an emotional gloom to suit the meteorological gloom.

As soon as the cold begins to bite, I respond by adding layers of clothing. I probably look like the Michelin Man but I don’t care as long as it mitigates the misery of the cold. I don’t understand women who go about in winter with short skirts and legs protected only by stockings or, worse still, those who expose their midriff to the elements.

There is a weak spot in the male armour against cold: trouser legs. You can pile on as many layers as you like above the waist and but you have only one layer covering the legs and the legs go on radiating away the heat. Tigger finally persuaded me to buy a pair of “long johns”. We found a sweet old fashioned clothes shop in Westgate-on-Sea that sells mainly women’s clothes but has a collection of men’s underwear as well. “My boys wear these as pyjamas,” the manageress confided with a complicitous smile, handing me a transparent packet containing a pair of blue thermal long pants. At £5.99 a pair, it was worth a try.

Since wearing them, I haven’t looked back. They are a size larger than I normally wear because I know from experience that that is the only way to get the leg length I need. I can pull them well up over my midriff and they still reach to my ankles so I can tuck them into my socks. Bliss! I now face the cold with something approaching equanimity.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter blues

  1. Oscarandre says:

    When a friend and I went to Europe for the first time – leaving the 40 degree heat of an Australian summer for 18 degrees below in Amsterdam and our first sight of snow – his mother packed us each a pair of longjohns. This was, to us in our early 20s, the height of uncool. But we quietly said thanks knowing we would not need them. This lasted two hours of walking around the snowy streets of Amsterdam. From then on, we were rarely out of our “Grandpa clothes.” I realised that day that, until then, I had never been truly cold.

  2. Moon Topples says:

    Here in Chicago, these things are a necessity during the brutally unpleasant winters. Especially for folks like me who don’t mind walking or taking a bus places.

    There was an episode of M*A*S*H* which revolved around a pair of thermal underwear, as I recall. I think they were using the underwear as a way of showing what was truly important to the characters.

    You can learn a lot from a cold human being.

  3. SilverTiger says:

    We Brits are supposed to be hardy and, to judge from some of the people I see walking around town lightly clad in the coldest weather, some certainly are. When I was a kid, I hated “dressing up” for rain or cold as I knew I would be teased by other pupils.

    The fact is, though, that in this country – of which a wag once said that it doesn’t have a climate, only weather – winters can vary from mild to ferociously cold. So can the other seasons. 😉 We have just been through a mild spell during which we used heating only occasionally, then, from one day to the next, the temperature dropped like a stone.

    The hope is that as you get older, you get a little wiser. Or is it merely that you become more attached to personal comfort? Either way, I am glad I bought the “elljays”, as Tigger calls them. She also introduced me to wearing fluffy socks in bed. 🙂

    Incidentally, Freya has lately discovered that she can crawl under the duvet for extra warmth.

    Email SilverTiger

  4. Julia says:

    Stop it, I’m drooling over my keyboard!

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

