New Year’s weekend (Sunday)

New Year’s Eve was Sunday which also happened to be launderette Sunday. A long month, exacerbated by the Christmas holiday, had passed since our last wash day and the laundry basket was overflowing. On the other hand, it was New Year’s Eve and we were honour bound to try very hard to come up with good reasons as to why we should put off the task until next week.

So we went for breakfast. Chapel Market contains several cafes, most of which we have patronized at one time or another. The Millennium Cafe is a good one but our current favourite is the Perfecto Cafe. They are very friendly and have several vegetarian set breakfasts but will cheerfully replace items with others. So we enjoyed a good breakfast and then Tigger decided to have her hair cut. Her hair needing cutting, she said, though I thought she looked lovely as she was. In any case, having her hair cut put off deciding whether or not to do the laundry so off we went to the hair cutters.

By now the sun was shining so we didn’t really have any excuses to put off the laundry chore any longer. We packed our wheelie suitcase and a shopping trolley and caught the bus to the stop nearest the launderette. We tend to save up our laundry and usually need at least two machines. On Sunday we needed three. Fortunately, there weren’t many people in so we had no trouble getting washing machines and dryers but it’s a job that takes a while, as you probably know.

By the time we got home and had everything folded and put away it was about 4 p.m. The weather had taken a turn for the worst so we didn’t feel much like going out. We vaguely though of going for a meal but somehow it never happened. Tigger rustled up something later in the evening and that was that. We dozed, did sudoku puzzles, listened to the radio or CDs and generally took our ease. At a particular moment, I was deeply into a sudoku when Tigger asked “Do you know what time it is?” I realized there was only one reason why she would ask that: “Lumme,” I said, “It’s the New Year.” And so it was.

The HulkI don’t drink alcohol anymore. I used to but began to find that after a few drinks I turned into The Hulk. OK, I didn’t really but it did make me bad tempered and after a couple of embarrassing incidents I decided to give it up. It’s a purely practical thing, nothing to do with ethics or morality and I don’t condemn drinking as such. So I toasted the New Year with a glass of Schloer fizzy fruit drink while Tigger polished off a bottle of Cava she had bought a few weeks previously in case it came in handy over the festive period. And, as you see, it came in handy, so she was right.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Leisure, SilverTiger. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Year’s weekend (Sunday)

  1. Oscarandre says:

    Sounds like a good start to the year, to me. I was drinking red wine with a friend, both with guitars and howling at the moon.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I must say we tend to alternate activity with dolce farniente. Both have their virtues.

  3. Ted Marcus says:

    There seems to be something inherent in the imminent arrival of New Year’s Eve that makes me irresistible to whatever nasty virus happens to be in my vicinity. This year was no exception. So my New Year’s Eve was spent at home feeling miserable. Which I guess isn’t that much worse than going out, drinking too much, and then feeling miserable as normal people are wont to do. I think I’ll look into checking myself into an isolation ward for the year-end week next year.

    Still, I did observe the occasion in what long ago became my standard fashion of tuning to the BBC to hear Big Ben ring in the new year at midnight GMT. That’s 1600 here in California, meaning I can get to bed at a reasonable hour regardless of viral status. With the demise of World Service shortwave broadcasts to North America some years ago, I now tune to the Real Audio feed of Radio 4. Perhaps that’s what alerted Tigger to the time?

    With a broadband connection the audio is nearly CD quality, so I could clearly hear the thudding, grinding, and clacking of the clockwork between peals (I understand the BBC’s microphone is inside the tower). An interesting mixture of 19th and 21st century technology!

  4. SilverTiger says:

    I hope your virus infection is showing improvement by now.

    I think Tigger noticed the midnight hour on our radio controlled wall clock.

    Tigger shares my love of clocks and we have several. I find it very comforting to wake up in the night, perhaps to go to the toilet, and see the LED clock showing that it is still only 3 a.m. and there is plenty of sleep time left mmmmmmzzzzzz.

    Email SilverTiger

  5. Ted Marcus says:

    The virus now seems to have just about vacated my sorry carcass (knocking plastic). It caused me to miss my first day back from work (yesterday), but I was back at the office today.

    I don’t particularly love clocks, but I’m inundated with them because they’re built into every electronic device I own. Resetting them twice a year becomes somewhat of a hassle. However, on my nightstand is a genuine old-fashioned analog electric alarm clock, the only analog timepiece I own. It’s at least 30 years old, since I remember it being in my college dorm rooms. It has a “telechron” motor synchronized to the 60Hz frequency of house current in North America. If I brought it to Britain and plugged it into one of your wall sockets (using the appropriate transformer and plug adapter) it would run slow.

    Why do I have such an antiquated device? I take my glasses off before I go to bed, which leaves me effectively blind and unable to read a digital clock! But I can discern the old-fashioned hands backlit in glowing orange neon. If they tell me it’s 3 am and it’s a weeknight, that means it isn’t worth trying to get back to sleep before the clock’s infernal buzzer goes off!

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

