A tail for Tiger?

The question is: should I grow a ponytail?

Julius CaesarI normally keep my hair cut short. In the parlance of the local £5 saloon, it’s a “number 3”. I tell them to leave the sideboards as a guarantee that my hair won’t retreat to a small disc on top of my skull and I have it combed forward, without a parting, “like Julius Caesar”. (The illustration shows Julius Caesar, not me.) The advantages of this style are that I rarely have to comb my hair and it’s easy and quick to wash. I think it suits me but I have worn it that way for so long that I have no idea what I would look like with another style.

The advantages of a ponytail would be:

  1. I have never had a ponytail;
  2. it would save spending £5 every 5 or 6 weeks;
  3. it would make a change;
  4. I could occasionally plait it as even more of a change;
  5. it would convince my acquaintance that I’ve finally lost it.

The disadvantages would be:

  1. more hair to wash;
  2. I have no idea how to manage it (but, as with nail varnish, I would soon find out);
  3. the intermediate stages would be untidy and uncomfortable.

Could be fun. Will think about it a bit more.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A tail for Tiger?

  1. baralbion says:

    “Punch” once had a cartoon offering a word of advice to those about to marry. It was “Don’t”.

  2. I know or have known several men with ponytails, and the look has only worked for one of them. The rest, in my opinion, looked silly. My husband has both a pierced ear and a tattoo, and I find both those things devastatingly attractive; but he would look ridiculous with a ponytail. It may be, however, that Tigger adores men with ponytails; so, I’d leave much of the decision up to her.

  3. SilverTiger says:

    The idea was mine, not Tigger’s. Tigger’s response was “As I’ve never known you with a poneytail I don’t know whether I’ll like it or not but if you want to try, go for it.” That is her response to most things.

    I don’t know yet whether I will try it or not.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

