Tiger ring

I acquired a new tiger ring on Friday or, at least, I thought I had. I have already spoken of my hobby of collecting silver rings with a tiger theme. Good ones are very hard to find so when I came across one on the Web, I lost no time in buying it. The ring was solid silver and depicted the head of a tiger, its mouth open in a roar. I already have one on my left hand and this was my chance to even things up and put some ballast on the right hand.

The advertisement said the ring was size ‘L’ which is virtually meaningless. I measured my finger (I have a set of jeweller’s measuring rings and a ring-stick for sizing rings, as any self-respecting ring hunter should). I was able to email the seller the exact size I needed and to ask whether they had the ring in that size. I also checked that I would be able to return the ring against a refund if necessary.

The ring arrived on Friday and I opened the package with joyful anticipation. The ring was huge. I gulped. It was also rather tight. It went on all right but when I tried to remove it, it seemed welded in place. I usually remove a tight ring by the time-honoured method of bending the knuckle and moistening it in my mouth. This ring, however, was so huge that it covered the knuckle. I tried twisting it round, thinking that if I could get the band to the top I could then access the knuckle. No: I couldn’t twist it. “Don’t panic! Don’t panic!” I found myself repeating… In the end I managed to squelch some hand cream under the ring and that did the trick: it came off. Phew.

Tiger ringI suppose I could wear it on my index finger instead of the middle finger but the weight (111g) is a disincentive. Another thing is that it doesn’t really look like a tiger. Tigger and her colleagues at work agreed it was definitely more like a dog. It’s too tight, too massive and doesn’t look like a tiger, so it’s going back. That’s a disappointment, certainly, but at least I have the fun of continuing to search. I have 5 vacant fingers, not counting the thumbs, so there’s plenty of scope.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tiger ring

  1. You’re right; it looks more like a dog. I just did an eBay search for “silver tiger ring” and got a number of handsome results. Most of them seem to come from Thailand or other Eastern locations, but the sellers have good feedback numbers.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    Yes, there are a few models out there but mostly mass produced and that makes them less attractive. When I first started looking, I didn’t have much idea what I was looking for but gradually my ideas crystallized. I can’t describe what I want but I will know it when I see it! I cruise the antiques markets and car boot sales in the hope of finding something unique.

    The one I have is a feisty open-mouthed tiger with sharp teeth. I had to learn how to wear this ring. At first it got caught on everything, pockets, sleeves, bags, shoe laces. The most embarrassing was when we queued to go into a restaurant, changed our minds and turned to leave and I found tiger had got hold of the dress of a lady standing beside me. I unhooked tiger, muttered an excuse and beat a retreat.

    Given a chance, he will grab anything. Once, tiger actually bit me! As I took off my coat he grabbed my other hand and drew blood. He’s a bit better behaved these days but can be naughty when you least expect it.

    I also have two tiger’s eye rings, one oval stone with a stripe like a cat’s eye and a round one with tiger stripes that I saw at the Frost Fair in Brighton. Saw it – bought it. It gets noticed a lot especially under bright lights.

  3. Tiger, I got a catalog in the mail today with this in it, and thought of you. 🙂
    http://www.whalesdirect.com/productxl.html?t_q=RM165

  4. SilverTiger says:

    Thanks, very nice. I like fleece and have a lot of pullovers and jackets in that material. We also bought a fleece rug for Freya for the winter. She was rather stand-offish at first (well, that’s a cat’s priviledge 😉 ) but took to it once she realized it was hers. Maybe it’s time to get a new one and this looks appropriate.
    Cheers,
    Tiger

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

