Who is Freya?

We live in a three-cornered household. I occupy one corner and Tigger another. Given my interest in, and identification with, the feline races it will not surprise you to learn that the third corner is firmly occupied by a cat. She is female and we call her Freya. What she calls herself, I do not know. Freya wears an elegant silver tabby costume and has large yellow eyes with which she is able to gaze at me with hypnotic intensity when she wants something.

FreyaFreya is a big cat and almost continuously affectionate. She is very vocal and has invented a set of sounds which I have heard no other cat make. She is a “rescue cat”, acquired by a cat charity who reckoned that her owner was mistreating her. When I first had her, Freya was so nervous and resentful that I thought she would never settle down and I would have to give her back. Eventually she calmed down and is now so confident that I feel able to take her on the bus and train, albeit in her carrying basket. The cat that once ran away and hid from me is now full of affection and spends every night curled up against my legs.

The only problem is that she is overweight. I think this may have something to do with her chequered past. Tigger calls her “lardy puss”. If you think that a bit strong I will point out that Freya recently tipped the scales at over 7 kg. So she is on a diet and not liking it one bit. Funnily enough, I don’t like it either, but I can be ruthless at times and this is such a time.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in About Us and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who is Freya?

  1. Ted says:

    It’s nice to see a picture of Freya, despite the blown-out highlights from the flash. She is indeed a beautiful kitty (and this from someone who doesn’t like cats, no less). In the Singles Jungle, women heavier than the Media Ideal (make that much heavier) often call themselves “Big Beautiful Women.” And, yes, there are men who prefer them, as they have “more to love.”

    So it might be appropriate to classify Freya as a “Big Beautiful Feline.” Or something like that.

    TRM

  2. SilverTiger says:

    Thanks for the comment. Freya certainly is a beautiful cat. You may have noticed the new title image at the top of my blog. Freya has the same white “flashes” under her eyes that the tiger has.

    The photo was a “snap” to see if the camera was still working. After that, the camera lay in a trunk unused for over a year. As announced in my “Page” on Islington, I have got it out again. If I get a good picture of Freya I will replace the current one.

    As you know there has recently been something of a backlash against “anorexic” models. We may be seeing a return to fashion of the “fuller figure”. I am not keen on the greyhound look myself.

    The reason why Freya is on a diet (and accepting it with a sort of grumpy resignation) is because overweight can lead to conditions such as diabetes and I would prefer to avoid that, for obvious reasons.

  3. Pingback: Freya revisited « SilverTiger

  4. Julia says:

    What a beauty! How’s her diet going? Has she lost weight?

  5. SilverTiger says:

    Yes, I think Freya has slimmed down a bit. We are currently trying out some food made by Burns, because they claim not to do any animal testing. She wasn’t keen on it so I have been mixing it into her old food gradually to accustom her to it.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

