Irresponsible mobile users

One of my pet peeves is irresponsible mobile users. Note that I say irresponsible mobile users, not mobile users in general.

I have no problems with mobiles nor, in general, with the people who use them. What gets my goat, as I said, are those who use them irresponsibly. For example, the people who sit at the next table in the pub, cafe or restaurant and receive call after call, often with a loud ring tone. Instead of quietly saying “Sorry, I’m at the restaurant. Call you later. Goodbye.” they launch into long conversations with their caller.

Or people who sit near you on the bus, tube or train and hold a lengthy shouted conversation on their phones. Yes, they shout. They have never learnt that the whole point of having a phone, mobile or fixed, is that it allows you to talk to distant people without shouting.

I read the opinion of a psychologist that what annoys us about other people’s mobile conversations is that we hear only one side of the conversation. We instinctively expect to hear both sides and so feel frustrated and irritated. I disagree. I find other people’s shouted conversations just as annoying even though I hear both, or all, sides of the conversation.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Irresponsible mobile users

  1. Pingback: Mobiles revisited « SilverTiger

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

